1. Fall
  2. Summer
  3. Spring
  4. Winter

Summer Guest Reviews

Search
Close

#1 Family Resort in the U.S. independenttraveler.com

Family on tube in Little Smugglers' Lagoon

Smugglers' Notch Resort Summer Guest Reviews

Read our guest comments...

For 20 years we have surveyed our guests and asked them "How Do You Like Us?" We use the survey results to refine our programs, activities and amenities to bring our guests the Best Resort For Family Fun Anywhere!

The internet has evolved to provide instant information about anything and everything, and you can find reviews about Smugglers' on many sites. We decided to share with you what our guests tell us in our surveys. We commit to you to give a balanced, candid report and let you decide.
Kari from Wallingford, CT
Stayed 08/30/2019-09/02/2019

"We love Smugglers' Notch! We stay in a comfortable room with great friends! Enjoy the nearby hiking and restaurants. Smuggs has the best pools and shuttles/drivers. Everyone is kind and helpful. We had a great time playing laser tag as a family."

Charles from Pattersonville, NY
Stayed 08/30/2019-09/02/2019

"Nice, peaceful and quiet. Enjoyed the beautiful landscape."

Jay from Danvers, MA
Stayed 08/19/2019-08/21/2019

"Blown away with the resort as a whole. There was so much to do. Each of our kids were highly entertained the entire time. We weren't home 24 hours and we are already talking about our next vacation to Smuggs."

Kaz from New York, NY
Stayed 08/18/2019-08/22/2019

"Over the years, we have made so many fond memories during our stays that Smuggs has become an integral and significant part of our family history Thank you!!"

Deborah from Haslett, MI
Stayed 08/14/2019-08/17/2019

"The resort itself was very impressive. Snuggled in the mountains of Vermont, very picturesque. Enjoyed the quiet of the moment. Very beautiful resort nestled in the Vermont mountains. Loads of activities for both young and mature. Wonderful vacation spot!"

Stephen from Wallingford, CT
Stayed 08/13/2019-08/18/2019

"Grandchildren said it was the best vacation they ever had. Kids were very happy with hiking/biking/swimming etc. Wife and I give it a solid A."

Elizabeth from Daytona Beach, FL
Stayed 08/12/2019-08/19/2019

"Pure fun! There was so much to do--swimming, hiking, biking, disk golf. The restaurants were good, and Bootleggers has to be one of the best bars in the country. This was my first trip to Vermont. Think that staying at Smuggs was the best decision for a place to stay."

Dara from Bethesda, MD
Stayed 08/12/2019-08/17/2019

"Smugglers' was a great way to experience Vermont in the summer and a good choice for a multi-family and multi-generation group. Treasures was an invaluable part of our vacation. I was able to do activities with my older kids that I would not have been able to otherwise. I felt totally comfortable with my baby there and we have never used day care so that's saying a lot. The brightwheel app was amazing and helpful in making me feel comfortable leaving my child there. They stuck to his schedule and kept me informed."

Kristina from North Kingstown, RI
Stayed 08/12/2019-08/15/2019

"Loved it. Our accommodations were great, in good shape and a good size. Enjoyed many facilities and activities. We all had a really great time. "It was awesome. And I wish we could go there more." (11- year old daughter) "Loved every moment" (dad, age 48)"

Marilyn from Philadelphia, PA
Stayed 08/11/2019-08/18/2019

"It was close to perfect. My husband and I brought our 2 daughters and 4 grandchildren. The grandchildren were ages 8 to almost 16. Everyone had a wonderful time. There were activities for every age group from 8 to 72. The staff was friendly as well as professional. The housekeeping staff deserves a gold star! Even the weather cooperated! We REALLY enjoyed Ben and Jerry's being on sight."

Don from Gladwyne, PA
Stayed 08/11/2019-08/17/2019

"Overall, we had an excellent vacation. We have come for skiing every year but this was our first summer vacation at Smuggs. Thoroughly enjoyed all the summer activities!"

Christina from Park, NY
Stayed 08/11/2019-08/17/2019

"My family and I absolutely loved this vacation. We will be coming back again."

Valerie from Hamden, CT
Stayed 08/09/2019-08/16/2019

"Outstanding! The unit was perfect, both in maintenance, cleanliness and comfort. We loved all of the new hiking trails and we're so impressed with the Bootleggers Basin and expansion of the disc golf. My son absolutely loves the Teen Center. Thank you for the Teen Center. My son really likes meeting kids, seeing them year after year, and the activities. It is so helpful that he can spend the day with the family and has the night, in a safe environment, with his peers! Great outdoor activities, amazing location and beautiful views really fuels family togetherness. There is something for everyone."

Philip from West Caldwell, NJ
Stayed 08/09/2019-08/14/2019

"We had a great time at Smuggs. There were plenty of activities available and the resort wasn't overly crowded. The house was very clean and nicely appointed."

Stacy from Fairfield, CT
Stayed 08/07/2019-08/11/2019

"Smugglers' is a lovely location for spending quality time with your family and not having to worry about the stresses of everyday life. Plenty of activities to take your mind away from the everyday and just enjoy your loved ones."

James from Stuart, FL
Stayed 08/04/2019-08/11/2019

"We had a wonderful time at Smugglers' Notch. The resort is definitely set up well for all ages and all activities."

Robin from Atkinson, NH
Stayed 08/03/2019-08/10/2019

"Excellent. Chock full of fun activities. It's a perfect spot for all ages."

Valerie D. TripAdvisor Review
Stayed August 2019

"Dream family vacation for everyone in a great location

Smuggs offers wonderful accommodations and activities that will please any family member. The setting is so incredibly beautiful. In fact, one needs to take the time to really take in the green mountains, landscaping, and clean air! The units are so comfortable and stocked for one or all family meals. There are diverse activities for the youngest to youngest person, with outstanding camps. We love the outdoor activities, including well-groomed trails, fun pools/lakes, and awarded disc golf. The surrounding area offers lots of great restaurants and activities too. Montreal also is a very doable day trip. A great vacation."

Shawn from Sudbury, MA
Stayed 07/28/2019-07/31/2019

"Great - we loved the range of activities for adults, and the ability to send our younger children to camp and daycare for the day. The fully stocked 3 bedroom condo we stayed in was an added bonus."

Sierra from Boston, MA
Stayed 07/25/2019-07/29/20197

"A great spot for a family vacation. Lots of family activities throughout the day. They do a great job of catering to all ages. all of the staff we encountered were very friendly."

Debra from Chicopee, MA
Stayed 07/24/2019-07/27/2019

"Wonderful! We enjoyed our vacation at Smugglers' Notch so much that we will definitely return again. Everything was perfect, the unit was incredible!!! All the employees we came in contact with were polite and helpful... Thank you very much for making this stay such a great experience!"

Jennifer from Ballston Lake, NY
Stayed 07/19/2019-07/21/2019

"Thank you Smugglers' Notch for making our long weekend family getaway a wonderful experience!"

Mike from Sudbury, MA
Stayed 07/15/2019-07/20/2019

"We had a great time! We loved the ease of getting around the resort, the plentiful outdoor space, and all of the activities available for our family. From the pools to the FunZone to mini golf to just hanging out, our family had so much fun together! We made s'mores out front, went to the sing-along, did tie-dye, explored, etc. We couldn't have asked for more! We loved Smuggs and will absolutely come back! Thank you for4 a great week of making memories with our kids."

Richard from Greenfield Park, Quebec
Stayed 07/13/2019-07/20/2019

"Vacation time at Smugglers' is a real vacation, allowing one to do as much or as little as you want. This place offers a wide variety of activities for different types of personalities."

Toni Pirkle from Buford, GA
Stayed 07/12/2019-07/18/2019

"We loved the activities, pools, all the facilities and mostly the kindness and great customer service of all the staff! We have never experienced such a family focused vacation! We enjoyed every activity so much!"

Eileen from Pearl River, NY
Stayed 07/06/2019-07/13/2019

"It is a fabulous family resort. We ate in and out. We had family ages range from 5 months to 74 1/2 years. They went to the pools and fun house(FunZone 2.0). It was a blast. Can't wait to do it again. Big parties and small parties too. I enjoy walking the grounds. It has park quality and full of great memories."

Joseph from Neshanic Station, NJ
Stayed 07/06/2019-07/13/2019

"We had a wonderful week filled with so many memories. Smuggs is just filled with so much to do and so much to enjoy just on the resort. The resort is simply lovely and wonderful for the entire family. The various activities are filled with something for everyone. Your staff is amazing! Very friendly and professional with such a natural nature of being genuinely caring and accommodating. We were greeted by so many friendly faces and given so much help. We are treated so royally and like family at the same time. Just a wonderful experience for all of us. Each and every aspect of the resort is family friendly. The restaurants, stores and many of the activities are focused to fulfilling enjoyment and family time. It's just a wonderful resort and lovely location."

Kay from Saint Paul, MN
Stayed 06/30/2019-07/06/20196

"We had a wonderful time at the resort. It's perfect for young families with lots of activities."

Jessica from Gilbertsville, PA
Stayed 06/30/2019-07/06/2019

"We had a very good time on vacation. There was a lot to do to keep the kids occupied but it was still relaxing for us parents. We chose Smuggs based on a friend's recommendation. We are now recommending it to all of our friends as well. We had a wonderful vacation and hope to be back in the near future."

Deidre from Northport, NY
Stayed 06/29/2019-07/04/2019

"It was the best vacation we've ever taken! It fed our souls. Everything was easily accessible and everyone was very friendly. Bot of our children loved camp. We came for the SNAP (Smugglers' Notch Adaptive Program) program for our son. He went and came home with a smile and looked forward to it. Everyone who worked in SNAP was really interested in the well being of our son. Our daughter loved the adventure camp. As a family we loved the array of all day activities as well as the hikes, wikes, and pools. It's a lovely community which we were welcomed into and we hope to make Smuggs a yearly vacation. Our accommodations were very comfortable. We had everything we needed and then some! Although it wasn't fancy, we are a special needs family and really aren't interested in decor. We will definitely share our experience with other special needs families on Long Island. We have really found a treasure at your resort... It was a blessing to have our son experience the outdoors while we had peace of mind he was well cared for and having fun. it allowed us as parents to hae a little break and experience nature ... without our children which is a rare treat. We all can't wait to come back!"

Robert from Marlborough, CT
Stayed 06/24/2019-06/28/2019

"Great time with family. Like summer camp for kids and adults."

Jay from Boca Raton, FL
Stayed 06/23/2019-06/30/2019

"We highly recommend Smugglers' Notch to anyone looking for a great time with the family in the great outdoors."

John from Lake Isabella, MI
Stayed 06/15/2019-0620/2019

"We had a great time. Smugglers' Notch has everything a person could want for a vacation. We were impressed with the number and diversity of things to do."

Summer 2018 Guest Reviews
Maribel from Bronx, NY
Stayed 08/28/2018-08/29/2018

"It was great staff, great water parks. Clean and well organized. My son felt great and stated was the best vacation. I felt at home. The food from the grill restaurant was delish. The drivers where friendly and professional."

Felicity from Rowe, MA
Stayed 08/26/2018-08/31/2018

"I had a great vacation! I love Smuggs. Great accommodations. Lots to do. Friendly staff. Beautiful surroundings."

Joan from Sharon, MA
Stayed 08/25/2018-08/31/2018

"In a conversation with a couple from NJ the husband said this was the first time he went on a cruise without a boat. They both said they'd be back next summer. I guess that about covers it."

Megan from Arlington, MA
Stayed 08/18/2018-08/25/2018

"We had a wonderful time - it was our favorite family vacation to date. I am personally a huge Disney fan and had to admit that we had a better time at Smugglers', more relaxing, more family fun and we actually felt refreshed when we got home. It was the first vacation in a long time where we felt that we were able to relax & enjoy as much as the kids."

Rose from Owen Sound, Ontario
Stayed 08/12/2018-08/18/2018

"It was my first time at Smugglers' in the summer and I was very impressed. My family and I had a great vacation at your facility. Nice spot, friendly people and lots and lots of activity for my 3 year old granddaughter."

Ethan from Southington, CT
Stayed 08/11/2018-08/16/2018

"I was really impressed by the overall experience. Everyone in my family enjoyed the week with each of us having our own personal favorites! The camps, pools, grounds, facilities, lodging, and people were all truly top notch."

Brenda from Waterbury Center, VT
Stayed 08/10/2018-08/12/2018

"Excellent, family fun! Wonderful, extensive schedule of activities for our family to enjoy including human foosball, swimming, dive in theater, laser tag, FunZone, mini golf, mountain race, etc. We wish our stay could have been longer and trying to schedule 7 days for next year!!"

Pamela from Wolcott, CT
Stayed 08/02/2018-08/09/2018

"It was wonderful! We loved the facilities and the FunZone. Our home was great, everything we were looking for. The pools were fantastic and the restaurants and service was great as well. Loved the shuttles, they were great and always timely. Truly a great 1st time experience and would love to return!!"

Lynn from Oxford, MA
Stayed 08/02/2018-08/06/2018

"It was absolutely amazing!!! We were there participating in the USJDGC (U.S. Juniors Disc Golf Championship). Smuggs went above and beyond to accommodate the players and their families. Would love to come back for another vacation. The kids absolutely loved it."

Meg from Webster, NY
Stayed 07/20/2018-07/23/2018

"This was an amazing vacation! The suite was huge and spacious for our whole family and very private. We took advantage of so many of the activities but felt we needed to come back to participate in all of the things we were not able to fit in."

Amy from Millville, NJ
Stayed 07/14/2018-07/21/2018

"We had a wonderful time. There was so much to do and see, we could not fit it all in. We will definitely have to visit again."

Sara from Wilmington, MA
Stayed 07/14/2018-07/21/2018

"Great family vacation! The resort offered something for everyone and provided us with enough options to have busy fulfilled days and relaxing days as well."

Chris from Cooksville, MD
Stayed 07/14/2018-07/21/2018

"Our family really enjoyed the vacation. We liked the family atmosphere and all of the activities available for us to participate in. The location was awesome as well! We will be back!"

Marcin from Lake Hopatcong, NJ
Stayed 07/08/2018-07/12/2018

"One of the best vacations our family had. This was our first summer vacation at Smugglers' and our family liked it even more than our winter vacations there. Overall, great place. My kids loved being here and did not want to leave."

Joseph from Neshanic Station, NJ
Stayed 07/07/2018-07/14/2018

"It was an amazing family vacation. We loved everything about Smugglers' Notch (Smuggs). The location, the staff, activities, the unit, the restaurants, the transportation, and of course the entire experience was outstanding. We have never been treated as well and with respect as in Smuggs. This was such an amazing adventure vacation destination for us. We so enjoyed it and will definitely tell friends and family and will return again. Until you experience Smuggs you cannot believe how wonderful it is for all ages."

Diane from Morrisville, PA
Stayed 07/07/2018-07/13/2018

"We were very impressed by Smugglers' Notch. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The units were spacious and comfortable. Shuttles were readily available to take you from one place to another. Even though the place was full, it never felt crowded. Definitely plan on returning. I can't say enough positive things about Smugglers' Notch Resort. We were a group of 9, ranging in age from 1 to 68. We had a 14 year old and a young adult with Downs' Syndrome. There was plenty to do on the property for each age range and also many family activities close by. We swam, kayaked, hiked, and toured. We also visited Montreal for a day. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!"

Scott from North Kingstown, RI
Stayed 07/02/2018-07/06/2018

"It was fun, it was nice, there was plenty to do. The accommodations were very clean and the kitchen was completely stocked with everything we needed to cook a meal. We loved having the ability to do our laundry so we did not have to carry dirty laundry home with us. We really enjoyed Rum Runners' Hideaway. The location is perfect and the scenery breath taking. The 4th fireworks and concert were exceptional! We also really enjoyed the movie on the green, that was such a good movie selection for the kids! The staff at the check in station and activities desk were really friendly, helpful, and patient!"

Christine from Warwick, RI
Stayed 06/30/2018-07/05/2018

"This is the second year that my children, grandchildren, my husband and myself spent our vacation at Smugglers' Notch Resort. We all have a very good time. There is something for everyone, and the shuttle makes it so easy to get place to place without driving, parking..."

Heather from North Reading, MA
Stayed 06/27/2018-07/05/2018

"It was wonderful, kids loved camp, I got to spend time with my husband. It was just the vacation we needed after a lot of work and school. The kids did things at camp, my husband and I got time to do things, but we also had plenty of family activities too."

David from Essex, MA
Stayed 06/26/2018-06/28/2018

"It was my first time visiting Smuggs and I brought my 8 year old daughter. I was extremely impressed and I look forward to returning with my wife and other 2 children. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, the communication was outstanding and the place is just awesome!"

Charity from Yardley, PA
Stayed 06/23/2018-06/30/2018

"This was our 15th visit to Smuggs. We love our time there. Everyone in the family, including our four teenagers, looks forward to our annual Smuggs vacation. As our kids head off to college, my husband and I look forward to expanding our visit seasons to fall and winter."

Carolyn from Newark, DE
Stayed 06/22/2018-06/29/2018

"Awesome location amidst the gorgeous mountains of Vermont. It was clean, well landscaped and had a friendly atmosphere."

Lisa from Montreal, Que
Stayed 06/22/2018-06/25/2018

"Words can truly not express how we all feel once we pull into your driveway (and how sad we are to pull away). Your staff always go above and beyond, the accommodations are all above our expectations and the activities are all great. The country store is always a family favorite. For such a small space that store carries everything we needed and more for extra fun and treats to enjoy on our vacation and the BEST candy! We enjoyed the bonfire and marshmallows, the FunZone 2.0, both Mountainside and Notchville pools, bbqs, hikes and nighttime activities several times."

Rose from Mattapan, MA
Stayed 06/21/2018-06/24/2018

"Loved it! It was relaxing and active at the same time. Much needed quality time with the family."

Jeanette from Quarryville, PA
Stayed 06/16/2018-06/23/2018

"There was more to do than we could do in one week. Loved the summer solstice carnival! Everyone found something to do that they enjoyed. FunZone is great for a rainy day! Shuffleboard, horseshoes, miniature golf, pools, slides, tubes and so much more made for an enjoyable week!"

Brian from Philadelphia, PA
Stayed 06/16/2018-06/23/2018

"We had an amazing time during our summer vacation making memories with our kids!"

Donna from Meriden, CT
Stayed 06/16/2018-06/23/2018

"The rooms were spacious and clean. The resort pools were refreshing and well kept. The staff all around were friendly and helpful. We had not been there before and wished we could have stayed another week so we could have enjoyed more and more of the surrounding area. I really think it is a very lovely place and a great one to enjoy with your family, young and old. We wish we had an extra week to trek to Vermont's tallest mountain, and spend a day at Rum Runners and Bootleggers, but that will have to wait till next time. Thanks again for a fantastic week."

Joseph from Fairbury, IL
Stayed 06/15/2018-06/22/2018

"Smugglers' Notch Resort and Vermont have become an integral component of the fabric of our family story. Innumerable unique family memories have been created during our annual excursions."

CLOSE


Summer 2017 Guest Reviews
Rachel from Lexington, MA
Stayed 08/21/2017-08/23/2017

"This was our first time there, and it will certainly not be our last. We are hoping to return next summer! There was plenty to do for the kids (5 & 8 years old), the dining was extremely kid-friendly, and happy kids means happy parents, so we got to enjoy the vacation too. Thanks Smugglers', see you again soon!"

Kathleen from Plymouth, MA
Stayed 08/20/2017-08/27/2017

"This vacation was great. We traveled with our daughter, son-in-law and two grandchildren (ages 5 and 1 1/2) and there was something for everyone. Never a dull moment on this vacation. A lot of fun and great family time."

John from Plainville, MA
Stayed 08/20/2017-08/23/2017

"This was our second time at Smuggs and once again we had an absolute blast! We stayed longer this time and even still found that we did not have enough time to take advantage of all of the activities. We'll be back!"

Matthew from California, MD
Stayed 08/18/2017-08/25/2017

"Highly recommend this location for family gatherings. The staff is wonderful to work with, the views are spectacular, the entire property is well maintained and there are plenty of activities to keep all ages occupied and happy."

Ernest from Jackson, NJ
Stayed 08/14/2017-08/20/2017

"We very much look forward to returning to Smuggs every year. We are always sad to leave and whether we spend on week or two weeks at Smuggs, it is never enough."

Matthew from Cranford, NJ
Stayed 08/14/2017-08/19/2017

"It was a wonderful vacation, with many diverse activities to keep us busy. Our kids loved the camps and overnight."

Laurence from Worcester, MA
Stayed 08/13/2017-08/20/2017

"Smuggs is an awesome place. We all feel like our "Refresh Button" has been hit when leaving our favorite Summer Vacation Place."

Michele from Cobleskill, NY
Stayed 08/12/2017-08/19/2017

"We had an amazing time at Smugglers' Notch!!! My kids enjoyed it more than Disney World because there was the perfect balance of fun and relaxation. No stress kind of vacation!!!"

CLOSE

start planning
date picker
date picker
Call direct for the best price


TripAdvisor Award

Save up to $350 on your Summer Vacation! Call today!

Ownership Opportunities

Online Shopping

Send me Emails & News Receive updates on Smuggs news, events, and special offers.