1. Fall
  2. Summer
  3. Spring
  4. Winter

Guest Reviews

Search
Close

#1 Family Resort in the Northeast FamilyFun Magazine

Ski Magazine Awards

Smugglers' Notch Resort Guest Reviews

Read our guests' comments...

Since the Winter of 1987/88 we have surveyed our guests and asked them "How Do You Like Us?" We use the survey results to refine our programs, activities and amenities to bring our guests the Best Resort For Family Fun Anywhere!

The internet has evolved to provide instant information about anything and everything, and you can find reviews about Smugglers' on many sites. We decided to share with you what our guests tell us in our surveys. We commit to you to give a balanced, candid report and let you decide.
Thank you to all who voted for us and for being part of the Smuggs family! The 2024 SKI Magazine annual reader survey results are in and weʼre thrilled to have been voted #1 for Families once again! We're extremely proud to also be voted, #1 for Value and Lodging. Smugglers’ also ranked in the Top 5 for the following categories: Snow, Grooming, Terrain, Challenge, Guest Services, Local Flavor, and Overall Satisfaction.

Read the Smuggs SKI reviews
"Smuggs is a unique and vanishing breed of ski resorts. I hope they never change. Down home, friendly, strive to please in every way."

"The Village has everything you could want or need."

"For those who value skiing/riding, this is the place for you. Challenging and extremely family friendly."

"Friendly staff. Excellent grooming and snowmaking! Family friendly activities and facilities! Love the atmosphere - a fun place to call home!"

"Smugglers' Notch Resort is the way skiing should be. Not over crowded, but filled with people who care about the mountain, the sport and the greater Smuggs community."

"Smuggs continues to focus on what they do best: family focused, variety of terrain for all levels of ability, awesome grooming (even when mother nature does not cooperate), local - independent flavor, and all supported by friendly and effective service."

"Smuggs has the best programming for kids, and it is one giant family. It’s the Cheers bar of ski resorts. The double chairs keep the trails less crowded. It’s quality over quantity."

"Smuggs is a unique and vanishing breed of ski resorts. I hope they never change. Down home, friendly, strive to please in every way."

"Smuggs is the best, hands down my family’s favorite place in the world."

"We love skiing at Smuggs! It is an amazing family resort catering to all ages and skiing skills. Customer service is top in class."

CLOSE

Winter 2023-2024 Guest Reviews

Jonathan from Dartmouth, MA
Stayed 02/10/2024-02/12/2024

"It was our first time at Smuggs an we will be back every winter for now on!"

Alison from Shohola, PA
Stayed 02/09/2024-02/12/2024

"We enjoyed it and it was a great fit for our family of five of skiers at different levels."

Sarah from Brookline, MA
Stayed 02/09/2024-02/12/2024

"We had a great time, everything was so close and accessible and the people were very friendly."

Mike from Cheshire, CT
Stayed 02/09/2024-02/11/2024

"Smuggs is a clean, beautiful,family-friendly place that is so clearly rooted in positive tradition and values. All my friends agree that Smuggs is the best. I tell everyone my love and admiration for Smuggs. It’s simply a magical place. Most people who already know Smuggs agree with me."

Michael from Columbia, SC
Stayed 02/08/2024-02/12/2024

"Great family resort. We enjoyed having everything so close to the accommodations, made skiing with young children easy and fun."

Bruce from New Haven, CT
Stayed 02/08/2024-02/11/2024

"It was awesome. One of the best mountains around hands down. We had beginners to experts everyone had fun. 2 seater fixed grips are classic. You offer a unique experience on the east coast lean into it don't change, please! It offers a more intimate experience with your lift partner and with the connection to nature and the mountain. It keeps the crowds at the bottom of the hill which is great. I don't want to ski with 10,000 people. I will happily wait in a crowded line to ski runs with only my friends or pass by only a few others. It is more fun and feels way safer. I don't worry about someone cutting me off or crashing into me, I can ride faster on less crowded runs and the mountain doesn't get skied off as fast on powder days. 2 chair fixed grips are awesome."

Juan from Orlando, FL
Stayed 02/06/2024-02/11/2024

"We will definitely go again, we love everything about this resort, the best thing is that it is focused on children and the whole family."

Christine from Fort Edward, NY
Stayed 02/03/2024-02/08/2024

"I really enjoyed Smugglers. There was so much for my granddaughter to do. Her ski lessons were great. I was impressed with her progress. The grooming on the mountain was great for my runs down the greens. The lifts are a little slow, but I didn’t mind. I had no idea there was so much to do there. Next trip I’ll be ready. Smugglers is very family friendly with great choices of runs for all ski abilities. It was a fun getaway."

Crystal from Lebanon, NJ
Stayed 02/03/2024-02/06/2024

"Our family had a great time, there was so much to do that we didn’t even have time to get to everything. Our kids loved the fun zone, it had something for each of them (7,5,2). Snowboard school was great, they learned a lot and my ski lesson was very helpful as well. Your instructors are awesome. Our only qualm was the dining, there was not many options for evening or grab and go."

Ormond Beach, FL
Stayed 02/02/2024-02/09/2024

"A Hidden Gem in the Heart of the Northeast! My recent stay at Smugglers' Notch Resort was nothing short of exceptional. As someone deeply ingrained in the vacation industry, I've had the privilege of experiencing numerous properties, yet Smugglers' Notch stands out as a true gem among them all. From the moment I stepped foot onto the property, I was enveloped in a warm, family-friendly atmosphere that is becoming increasingly rare in today's hospitality landscape. The resort exudes a charming "mom and pop" vibe that instantly made me feel at home. The accommodations were not only comfortable but also thoughtfully designed, with updated rooms featuring full kitchens—an amenity that truly enhanced our stay. There's nothing quitelike returning from a day on the slopes to find a delicious homemade chili simmering in the crockpot, ready to warm you up and replenish your energy.What truly sets Smugglers' Notch apart, however, is its unparalleled service. Every member of the staff I encountered was not only professional but alsogenuinely passionate about ensuring guests have the best experience possible. It's evident that they love what they do, and their dedication shinesthrough in every interaction. Speaking of experiences, the skiing at Smugglers' Notch is simply unparalleled. With three mountains boasting over 90 runs,there's something for everyone—from beginners to seasoned pros. Despite our best efforts, my companions and I only managed to explore a fraction ofthe terrain during our week-long stay—a testament to the resort's vast offerings and endless opportunities for adventure. While we did venture out tonearby Stowe for a day, I found myself eagerly anticipating our return to Smugglers' Notch. Unlike the overpriced and pretentious atmosphere weencountered elsewhere, Smugglers' Notch felt like a genuine haven for families and outdoor enthusiasts alike—a place where memories are made andcherished for years to come. In fact, I've already recommended Smugglers' Notch to three families, and I'm already in the early stages of planning myreturn trip for 2025. For anyone seeking an authentic, unforgettable getaway in the Northeast, I wholeheartedly recommend Smugglers' Notch Resort—it's a must-stay destination that will capture your heart and leave you longing for more. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with warmth and hospitality by the front desk staff, who seamlessly checked us in and provided valuable information about the resort and its amenities. Their professionalism and genuine friendliness set the tone for the rest of our stay. Throughout our time at Smugglers' Notch, we encountered numerous staff members—from the lodge attendants to the ski shop personnel to the bartenders—and each one left a lasting impression with their unparalleled level of service. Whether it was assisting us with our gear, recommending the perfect trail to ski, or simply engaging in friendly conversation, every staff member we encountered went out of their way to ensure we felt welcome and well taken care of. What truly stood out to me was the genuine care and attentiveness demonstrated by the entire team. There was never a moment where we felt like just another guest; rather, each staff member took the time to make personal connections and ensure that our needs were not only met but exceeded. Their courtesy,helpfulness, and willingness to go the extra mile truly made our trip unforgettable. While I would love to highlight specific individuals for their outstanding contributions, the truth is that every staff member we encountered at Smugglers' Notch went above and beyond in their own unique way. Whether it was a friendly smile, a helpful tip, or a kind gesture, their collective efforts made our stay truly exceptional. In conclusion, I cannot recommend Smugglers' Notch Resort highly enough, thanks in large part to the incredible team of hospitality superstars who make it all possible. If you're looking for a destination where every interaction feels like a warm embrace and every need is anticipated and met with a smile, look no further than Smugglers' Notch Resort. Your expectations will not only be met but exceeded, thanks to the outstanding staff who make this resort truly shine."

Jaime from Guilford, VT
Stayed 02/02/2024-02/05/2024

"It was fantastic! My parents, husband, kids, and I all had so much fun. There were options for all of us to enjoy ourselves at our different levels of skiing /riding, and the condo we rented was great. We had so much fun. Can’t wait to come back next year (the kids are already asking). Thank you!"

Corey from Almonte, Ontario
Stayed 02/02/2024-02/04/2024

"Loved it! The lodging is so cozy and comfortable. So much to do and see. Post card worthy view from the top of the hill. Our kids loved the kids zone and arcade!"

Caitlyn from Vestal, NY
Stayed 02/01/2024-02/04/2024

"We had a wonderful time! Had three generations together, which made it so fun. The first time skiing for the youngest and the first time in a long time that first two generations were all able to ski together. Loved how family centered everything was. We were pleased with how many activities were available when we weren’t skiing (fun zone, tubing, etc.) Wish we had enough time to do it all! There was something for everyone - from the experts in the group, to those who prefer blues and of course for our littles just learning. The variety of terrain is awesome."

Shannon from Elgin, IL
Stayed 01/31/2024-02/03/2024

"This was our first time visiting Vermont and visiting Smugglers Notch. We’re from the Midwest and are used to people being “Midwest Nice,” but we were blown away on how kind and patient everyone was during our visit. We came back telling everyone about Smuggs, and how we loved the location, activities, but the people were the amazing cherry on top. We absolutely loved our time at Smuggs and can’t wait to go back. Additionally to the phenomenal skiing, We loved Wednesday’s night tubing and family game show particularly the Pyramid type of game. Also loved Thursday’s fireworks that we got to watch from our room’s balcony. Three of us were first timers while my husband is an experienced skier. We all had fun on the different trails and skiing opportunities."

Antonio from Toms River, NJ
Stayed 01/31/2024-02/03/2024

"Our overall experience with our first trip to Smugglers' Notch was just perfect. My family along with another family stayed in a condo situated perfectly on the mountain just a walk away from virtually everything the amenities were extremely clean. The staff was as nice as pie and all of the restaurants and activities were great to!"

Kevin from Hampden, MA
Stayed 01/31/2024-02/02/2024

"Pleasantly surprised. White tablecloth dinner at Hearth and Candle with excellent service and nice wine list. Essentially ski in and ski out was fabulous. Skiing was in very good conditions and well marked. The lift assist staff very helpful for my wife whom not used to the non-derailleur lifts. Snowshoeing was fabulous we went on the purple moose trail well maintained and very picturesque with the beaver ponds and very quite. The store had a wide variety."

Lisa from Winfield Park, NJ
Stayed 01/29/2024-02/02/2024

"Great room, great skiing conditions. As usual every staff member, cafeteria worker, lift line operator and shuttle driver was very friendly. Couldn’t have asked for more."

Andrew from West Hartford, CT
Stayed 01/26/2024-01/29/2024

"It was wonderful. There were 16 of us (8 dads with 8 12 year old daughters). A perfect, family friendly resort that’s safe and has tons to do. 2nd year running for this trip! Best family vacation resort in America."

Noreen from Billerica, MA
Stayed 01/26/2024-01/29/2024

"It was wonderful ….. I took my whole family and rented 3 rooms they were all beautiful. My family made wonderful memories. It was our first winter vacation and the first time they ever skied."

Jessica from Natick, MA
Stayed 01/26/2024-01/28/2024

"We loved Smugg's. We did not know what to expect and it turned out great. It was smaller- in a good way, then expected. We loved how you could walk everywhere. The conditions were quite good the weekend we were there so that was a bonus. We have already recommended to friends and family and hope to return in the summer. We went with another family, shared a condo, and had a super weekend. We really loved it at Smuggs and look forward to returning any season. There are a handful of mountains closer but we liked the small family feel that you have going on up there. We did try some of the dining facilities but mostly ate in the condo. The lodge for lunch worked out great and had a good variety. But the big takeaway- we loved it and look forward to returning, thanks for a great family weekend!!!!"

Adam from Saddle Brook, NJ
Stayed 01/25/2024-01/28/2024

"Great family resort, providing many reasons for our family and friends to come back every year, for several years! Thank you again to the Smugglers Notch Team!"

Melinda from Centreville, VA
Stayed 01/21/2024-01/26/2024

"We had a really great time. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. We really love the atmosphere at Smuggs, the chill lifts and the delicious food at the grille."

Dan from Holliston, MA
Stayed 01/19/2024-01/21/2024

"We had an excellent time! The room was clean & convenient and the skiing was phenomenal."

Harry from Upper Saddle River, NJ
Stayed 01/18/2024-01/21/2024

"Love Smuggs since the day our friends invited us up to ski there. Our kids grew up skiing there and they love the challenging terrain (when snow permits, of course.) Also love vacationing there in the summer. Hiking, biking, rafting…lots of things for young and old!"

Jennifer from Melbourne, FL
Stayed 01/18/2024-01/20/2024

"It was fantastic! Everyone was very nice and the resort was comfortable and fun! We didn't want to leave. Thank you for an amazing first time skiing experience! Fantastic first time ski trip! The staff is very friendly and the resort is great! We will recommend Smugglers Notch to everyone. We will be back! Thank you!"

Carina from Southborough, MA
Stayed 01/12/2024-01/15/2024

"The resort and accommodations are great for family vacations! The staff were helpful and friendly. The kids loved Fun Zone and the arcade, as well as tubing. As far as skiing goes, the conditions were great and we really enjoyed skiing..."

Mark from Dedham, MA
Stayed 01/12/2024-01/15/2024

"We love smuggs for its family vibe, on mtn lodging, great terrain and we actually love the old school lifts. The people really do make a difference. We have built relationships over the years with several snowboard instructors which always makes the visit feel like we are part of the Smuggs community."

Thomas from Homosassa, FL
Stayed 01/11/2024-01/13/2024

"I had a great time. I loved the personalized approach of the resort. Rarely have we been to a resort where everyone knows you and is so friendly. Everyone we came into contact with was incredibly personal and pleasant, even the shuttle drivers were A plus service! Loved the small resort feel at such a large resort!"

James from Township of Washington, NJ
Stayed 01/10/2024-01/14/2024

"Amazing resort, mountain, staff and facilities. We love everything about Smuggs!!!"

Nicole from Mont Vernon, NH
Stayed 01/08/2024-01/13/2024

"Thanks for allowing us to experience a fabulous vacation, to slow down and spend quality time as a family."

Jackie from Pacific Grove, CA
Stayed 01/05/2024-01/11/2024

"Mind blown. Not at all what I was expecting. I booked the trip with the snowboarders and skiers in my family in mind, but Smugglers Notch has so much going on for everyone! I would recommend this place to anyone!"

Henry from Seattle, WA
Stayed 01/01/2024-01/05/2024

"Wonderful. The staff and family-friendly feel is what won me over. Love that I didn’t get nickled-and-dimed. Felt like I was being treated fairly and that the staff were too. We loved our time—even my wife did, despite being skeptical of a ski vacation. We love the feel of the place, especially compared to the big corporate resorts that seem to be everywhere now. And we loved that the culture was welcoming and fun-focused, not catering to ski snobs."

Joe from Mississauga, Ontario
Stayed 01/01/2024-01/04/2024

"Overall we had a great time! The mountain winter experience definitely provided more than just skiing, which we are very grateful for. Our days were full and fun! Our kids have stated it’s now one of their favourite ski hills. Thanks for the great stay and memories. Hope to be back again soon!"

Keenen from Pelham, AL
Stayed 12/19/2023-12/22/2023

"It was beyond fabulous. I felt like I was living a Hallmark movie. This was my daughter and I, 1st Mother and daughter trip. And you all definitely pulled out the Red Carpet. I appreciate everyone for treating us so well. Much love and Happy Holidays to EVERYONE I had the pleasure of coming in contact with weather via phone or in person. My daughter and I had the best time ever.. thanks to the entire staff"

Steve from Falls Church, VA
Stayed 12/16/2023-12/24/2023

"Outstanding. My family and I had a great time and enjoyed everything about the resort. We had an absolutely wonderful experience at Smuggler's Notch. I hope that's reflected in my previous comments. Personally, I loved the ability to track
your runs on the Smuggs app. Maybe other places have that, but it's the first time I've been able to do that when I've been skiing. Perhaps I need to get out more. The only negative I could come up with is that the wooden corners of the beds stuck out far enough that more than one of us banged our shins
on the frame."

Kevin from Clayton, NC
Stayed 12/16/2023-12/22/2023

"Fantastic!! This was our first trip to Smuggs, our 1st ski vacation as a family, and our 1st trip to the beautiful state of Vermont. We had a great time and would absolutely consider a return visit."

Winter 2022-2023 Guest Reviews
Michael from Wayne, PA
Stayed 03/26/2023-03/29/2023

"We had an excellent time on our vacation. The ski quality was excellent. You could easily tell that Smuggler's Notch takes great care of their mountain. This was an outstanding location for a ski vacation, especially when traveling with children! We had a great experience at Smuggler's Notch and we plan to be back! We were pleased to see the pride that Smuggler's Notch takes in its mountain and its ski trails, especially in the last few weeks of the ski season!"

John from Newmarket, Ontario
Stayed 03/24/2023-03/26/2023

"We had a great time both on and off the hill. With so such to do for children and teens: happy kids = happy parents."

Cameron from Pickering, Ontario
Stayed from 03/24/2023-03/26/2023

"Very enjoyable. The area is easily accessible and everything is within walking distance. Very well put together resort."

Josh from Toronto, Ontario
Stayed 03/24/2023-03/26/2023

"We thoroughly enjoyed our time and experience at Smuggs and will be back. The mountain was beautiful and perfectly suited for kids and beginners. The chalets were cozy and had everything we needed."

Matt & Jill from Charleston, SC
Stayed 03/22/2023-03/26/2023

"Just finished a four-day trip to Smuggs. This was our first time skiing in New England, and we all fell in love with this place. As a family resort, it is without peers, as far as I’m concerned. The resort facilities are nice, but low-key in the best way. Nothing is over-done, and nothing is shabby. The food at the on-hill restaurants is good, and it’s not overpriced. The activities for kids and teens at the Fun Zone and the Teen Center are nothing short of exceptional. Easily the best laser tag I’ve ever seen, plus indoor mini-golf, pool tables, ping pong, video games, and an incredible climbing wall and ninja course. Our teens were dying to go there every night! The nightly activities like Karaoke, fireworks, magicians, and carnivals are genuinely fun, as well. The prices are very reasonable throughout the resort. Our room was a one-bedroom in the base village, and it was really cool. It was not fancy, but was perfect for our needs. It had a bedroom, bathroom (with separate toilet and separate shower, making it more like 2 bathrooms), living room, kitchen, and a sleeping loft for our boys. One of the amazing and unique things about Smuggs is that you can add a bedroom for a modest price increase. Everywhere else I’ve seen DOUBLES your nightly room rate for adding another bedroom. As for the skiing, I have skied all over the West, several places in Europe, Canada, and the Southeast. Smuggs has a big-mountain feel with long trails, tons of variety, plenty of challenge, absolutely spectacular views, and lack of over-crowding. Can it compete with Alta for snow? Of course not. Can it compete with Whistler for variety and vertical? Of course not. But I don’t think any other mountain I know of can compete with Smuggs as a family skiing destination. The staff were all great, as well. The whole place— and the clientele it attracts— are good, solid, down-to-earth people that are a delight to get to know. There was plenty of snow, and as a bonus, on the last day of our late-March trip, we were rewarded with 6” of fresh, dry powder. Amazing. We loved our stay and we plan to return as soon as we can."

Jon from Crestview, FL
Stayed 03/19/2023-03/23/2023

"We really loved and enjoyed our stay. Your employees all seemed to genuinely like their jobs. It must be a good place to work. People were happy and friendly and I just don’t see that in every vacation spot. Your employee training is paying off because the staff just KNOWS how to interact with everyone from kids to seniors. This really impressed my family. We also very much enjoyed the Wykoff maple syrup factory, where the owner and his family delighted in talking about their process and equipment."

Elizabeth from Greenville, DE
Stayed 03/16/2023-03/22/2023

"Smugglers is a low key, humble and comfortable ski resort for families."

Michael from Natick, MA
Stayed 03/16/2023-03/21/2023

"So impressed ! This was our first visit to Smuggs and it totally exceeded our expectations - mountain was much bigger than expected and more diverse set of trails to choose from. We also loved the little village that had everything we needed, but also flexible to go off campus"

James from Lakeland, FL
Stayed 03/12/2023-03/17/2023

"Resort was well kept, Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. There were also lots of programs / things to do through out the day to keep you busy when you were not on the slopes. We plan to come back next year for Spring Break as well."

Rod from South Deerfield, MA
Stayed 03/12/2023-03/17/2023

"Always a great family time and worthy of the best memories for a lifetime......"

Jennifer from Tampa, FL
Stayed 03/12/2023-03/17/2023

"Our condo was impeccable and very comfortable. All the amenities were amazing and made our stay even more enjoyable. We will highly recommend to others and can’t wait to come back. Compared to other ski resorts, the chair lifts could use upgrading. However, it was pleasant to have no lines. The mountain is large enough to accommodate large numbers while not crowding up the ski paths."

Janice from Stouffville, Ontario
Stayed 03/12/2023-03/17/2023

"We had an awesome time as always. We had awesome snow and had a great liftside walkout location with our family and friends nearby. We participated in most kid and adult events and Sam was a fabulous host, since taking the reins from good time Charlie. A highlight was Sams band on Thursday night! They are amazing! All ages loved it! This is our 10th year at Canadian March break so thank you!"

Allan from Thornhill, Ontario
Stayed 03/12/2023-03/17/2023

"This is our 7th family winter vacation at Smuggs. We have always been very happy with the family vibe, great staff and awesome skiing. As the years go on, we have noticed some changes that have not been ideal, but overall impression was great as always."

Jim from Holmdel, NJ
Stayed 03/11/2023-03/21/2023

"Awesome staff! Well maintained facilities! Had best lesson experience I have had in almost 30 years of skiing and taking lessons! Really enjoyed water exercise class at court side pool and access to the pool to swim laps."

Maureen from Danbury, CT
Stayed 03/11/2023-03/18/2023

"A great time at Smuggs, as always! We always look forward to a great Winter week at Smuggs - from start to finish, it's a fun time, whether having fun with family, skiing, snowshoeing or hooting & hollering with the Smuggs Band."

Craig from Freelton, Ontario
Stayed 03/11/2023-03/18/2023

"We all had a phenomenal time. The entire family enjoyed the entire week, and can't wait to come back."

Jennifer from Toronto, Ontario
Stayed 03/11/2023-03/18/2023

"Great trip. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Snow was incredible! I love being at Smuggs."

Lindsey from Port Orange, FL
Stayed 03/10/2023-03/17/2023

"We had a fantastic time! 2 out of 3 of our children had never played in snow. They now want this to be our yearly vacation spot! We had one of the best family vacations we’ve ever had! My kids cried when we left and hope to make this our new yearly family vacation!"

David from Montoursville, PA
Stayed 03/10/2023-03/13/2023

"Entire trip was great. The vibe was terrific. Huge mountain, but had family feel. Great accommodations. Convenient village sites."

Jessica from Hopewell Junction, NY
Stayed 03/10/2023-03/13/2023

"Very family friendly. Activities for all ages, easy to access all activities and extremely helpful staff! The shuttle was very efficient and ran smoothly. Snow was amazing but I’m not sure if it was natural or man made- didn’t matter bc the quality was terrific and hardly any ice on the mountain"

Philip from Washington, CT
Stayed 03/10/2023-03/12/2023

"I first skied Smuggs or "Madonna Mtn" as it was called in 1969. Excellent as always. While Smuggs could use a little spiffing up(the ceiling in guest
reception...) it is still the best for a few reasons: the double chairs ensure that you WILL have a conversation with your chair mate. Boy do we need more of this in our country these days! It also helps to not over-crowd the slopes! While the rest of the ski industry concentrates on ticket sales and uphill capacity, Smuggs defies this ugly trend-and is still viable! But we all suspect that change is coming...the Vail Empire lurks just over the hill and the changes they would like to bring to Smuggs if they could would be a disaster for the skiers that just want to ski. We so appreciate that Bill S continues to hold out. The staff here is what makes all the difference! I ski many different paces. Smuggs staff is still like family."

Sally from Redding, CT
Stayed 03/10/2023-03/12/2023

"We loved it! Fun, no long lift lines, spacious condo, lots to do."

Harold from Medford, MA
Stayed 03/10/2023-03/12/2023

"It was great! Plenty of options for food and activities on top of skiing (main purpose of visit). Great stay, everything we did was fun and staff was always helpful and cheerful."

Elyse from Stonington, CT
Stayed 03/10/2023-03/12/2023

"Our family had a great time. Everything was easy and convenient and snow conditions were amazing."

Kim from Guilford, CT
Stayed 03/09/2023-03/12/2023

"A wonderful time was had by all! Not too crowded, good conditions, and friendly staff."

Brian from Coopersburg, PA
Stayed 03/07/2023-03/11/2023

"one of the most fantastic spots on Earth's fun playground for adventuring and connecting with each other"

Peter from Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada
Stayed 03/05/2023-03/12/2023

"As ever, we had another great holiday. Everything is as we've come to expect. Everyone had a great time and enjoyed the excellent conditions. Anyone I speak with, who has skied at Smuggs speaks highly of the trails. While we chuckle about the fixed double chairs, I've kind of come to appreciate them, as there doesn't appear to be any need for higher capacity during the week and they act to limit capacity on the hill."

Kyle from Ottawa, Ontario
Stayed 03/05/2023-03/08/2023

"First time in a long time that I had been to Smuggs at this time of year and everything was great. Conditions were amazing and everything was smooth from check-in to check-out. It was great being able to get back to Smuggs after several years away! Everything was as I had remembered and what had changed was an improvement for the best. Cannot wait to go back!"

Emily from Vershire, VT
Stayed 03/02/2023-03/05/2023

"Fantastic. Everyone was kind and welcoming. Conditions were great on the mountain. Accommodations were clean and comforting. Food was excellent, especially Hearth and Candle."

Tom from St. John's, New Foundland, Canada
Stayed from 03/01/2023-03/07/2023

"We had an amazing time at Smugg’s. Easy to get around the resort, lots of things to do, staff friendly and helpful, great instructors, well running ski hills. All the staff we interacted with during our stay were great- front desk, ski desk, housekeeping, FunZone, pool, restaurants, ski hill, instructors, rental shop, and medics. Very friendly and helpful."

Donnamarie from Salem, NH
Stayed 02/28/2023-03/04/2023

"We were a family group of 14 ranging from age 72 to 3 years old and every single one of us had a spectacular experience. This was the third year our family has returned to Smuggs - previously we had vacationed at Sunday River and Jay Peak. We are already planning to return to Smuggs in 2024. The activities appeal to all ages and the lodging accommodations are fabulous. We are already looking forward to our return!"

Margaret from Rushland, PA
Stayed 02/26/2023-03/12/2023

"It was very fun and lucky with fresh snow to ski on. The staff was very helpful. I did not have the help of assisting to unload my car as promised but a lovely young housekeeper took pity and helped me with my heaviest bags while she waited for her shuttle."

Mark from Orlando, FL
Stayed from 02/26/2023-03/04/2023

"My guests had young children, and the programs that Smuggs offers were amazing. They all had a blast! There was something for everyone, and enough of it to keep my gang busy and challenged all week. The conditions were great. I especially like how the staff adapted the lift-lines as the crowd grew on busy days. Even as my child has aged and is no longer a child (or teenager), we all always like coming back to Smuggs (often twice a year), as we can relax enough to the point that it is like our second home. The staff are so wonderful and go out of their way to provide an excellent experience. Even after all these years, there are familiar faces meaning there is a degree of staff loyalty...and some of the staff even remember us."

Catherin from Arnold, MD
Stayed from 02/26/2023-03/03/2023

"We had an excellent time and we were so impressed with the skiing, accessibility, and friendliness of the resort. Our stay at Smugglers' Notch was perfect. So fun, so affordable, and incredible skiing."

Derek from Hollis, NY
Stayed 02/25/2023-02/27/2023

"Vacation was great! The resort is really set up in a great way and allows for you to maximize to experience."

Thomas from Jermyn, PA
Stayed 02/24/2023-02/27/2023

"Vacation was good, skiing was great and on mountain staff was super friendly. Fun zone and after skiing activities kept us occupied. I love the mountain at Smuggs and have visited three times. This was my children’s first trip to Vermont and they loved the mountain and the ski in/ski out ability and my youngest had a great time at the fun zone at night instead of just sitting in the condo watching tv."

Courtney from Monroe, CT
Stayed 02/24/2023-02/27/2023

"Absolutely wonderful! There were so many different activities for us to do together as a family and a staff was incredibly helpful and very nice. There were so many different activities to do which made each day a new adventure!"

Dana from Reading, MA
Stayed from 02/24/2023-02/26/2023

"It was our first time to Smuggs and we loved it! It exceeded all our expectations. We liked the ease of getting around, the trails were unbelievable and the condo we rented was awesome. Everyone we encountered from the restaurants to the check in, the ski lifts to the shuttle drivers - was wonderful."

Matt from Saranac Lake, NY
Stayed 02/24/2023-02/26/2023

"It was really great! So many things to do and everything was so easy to find and do, even with a large group with a large age range. I was very impressed with all the family activities and how well they accommodated the adults as well."

Lauren from Sudbury, MA
Stayed 02/23/2023-02/26/2023

"We had a great time - the kids describe it as exciting and fun. Our favorite activities were the FunZone and night tubing. The fireworks were also super cool."

John from East Dorset, VT
Stayed 02/19/2023-02/26/2023

"We are owners since 1997 and Smuggs has never failed us in terms of an enjoyable vacation. Our children learned to ski and board at Smuggs and this year we had our grandchildren taking lessons and loving every minute of their Smuggs vacation. The pool and the fun zone were nice alternative activities when the weather was a bit too cold for the slopes. We also attended Bingo and the Magic show. Both were fun and entertaining. They can't wait to come back next year. Any questions we had were always answered with a smile. Housekeeping was very quick to respond to our requests. The "lifties" were always pleasant with a smile and a greeting, even at single digit temps. Thank you for staying true to being a family resort and not selling out to the larger corporations who will take the "family" out of the equation. We truly feel like family coming home every time we arrive!"

Hannah from Ridgefield, CT
Stayed 02/19/2023-02/24/2023

"Overall we were pleased. We were recommended to smuggs because of the ski school and felt that it gave us exactly what we were looking for for our 2 beginner/intermediate kids. Ours youngest was off the magic carpet on day one and our oldest was pushed to start taking her skiing to the next level. The Morse mountain runs and lifts were perfect for our young kids. We were most impressed with the ski school program. It was wonderful to have our kids with the same instructor the entire week. My son (in the 5-6 program received a report card at the end of the week which was great."

Paul from Concord, MA
Stayed 02/18/2023-02/25/2023

"We had a fantastic time. Our boys (aged 8 & 10) had a wonderful week in lessons. Two days in all day camp and 3 days in morning half days. The instructors were awesome and they had a blast. Really expanded their ability and comfort on different terrain. The condo was great and we were very happy with amenities, We had three great meals at Hearth & Candle too."

Andres from Natick, MA
Stayed from 02/18/2023-02/24/2023

"Smuggs is always a wonderful place for our annual February Week Ski Vacation. We love the mountains, the staff, the environment, and the accommodations. We had a lot of fun, relaxed and enjoyed ourselves with family and friends. Always keep the amazing staff you have and make sure that Smuggs continues to shine as the special place it is!"

Dan from East Williston, NY
Stayed 02/18/2023-02/22/2023

"Awesome. Listen you depend on Mother Nature to help and deliver goods and up until this point it’s been a bone dry northeast until now, but that don’t matter to the kids, they had an absolute blast as did we. Great time and great few days Away."

Michelle from Hewlett, NY
Stayed 02/17/2023-02/20/2023

"Amazing, very organized, great customer service."

Laura from Arlington, MA
Stayed 02/17/2023-02/20/2023

"Nice accomodations with access to both nordic and alpine skiing. Definitely want to come back."

Ariel from Greenwich, CT
Stayed 02/13/2023-02/17/2023

"Fantastic family resort with not only the right level of skiing for my kids but also great activities for after skiing."

Michael from Danbury, CT
Stayed 02/12/2023-02/19/2023

"Great, we were back after a few years and found the facilities in good shape. Staff were very friendly and helpful at every location where we interacted. Smuggs is really a great place for fun family vacations. The ski school is excellent – Our first-timer seven and five year-olds were having a great time coming down the Morse runs after only two days of ski school. The group lessons have first-rate instructors as well."

Michael from Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Stayed 02/12/2023-02/17/2023

"We had a fantastic family five day ski vacation, the kind of vacation that memories are made of. We were very happy to return this year, with our three generation extended family. We had a blast."

Clara from Stamford, CT
Stayed 02/12/2023-02/17/2023

"Wonderful! We had such a warm welcome at reception and the associate sounded as excited for us to be there as we were. Great mix of activities — we skied daily and appreciated a mix of activity and relaxation off the slopes."

CLOSE


start planning
Call direct for the best price


Eclipse 2024

BrewFest Weekend

TripAdvisor Award

Send me Emails & News Receive updates on Smuggs news, events, and special offers.