1. Fall
  2. Summer
  3. Spring
  4. Winter

Guest Reviews

#1 Family Resort in the Northeast FamilyFun Magazine

Smugglers' Notch Resort Guest Reviews

Read our guests' comments...


The SKI Magazine annual reader survey results are in and we're thrilled to announce that Smugglers' has been voted the top resort for Kid-Friendly Activities in the Eastern U.S. and Canada and #1 Resort in the Eastern U.S.!

A few of the comments from SKI Magazine readers ...

"Customer Service is second to none! The kids programs are better than anywhere in the world!"

"The resort clearly understands their customer and what they value. The staff will do anything they can to accommodate your needs. You are treated like family!"

"Smuggs family reputation leaves out the fact that they have some of the best expert terrain in the East. Awesome steeps and sidecountry."

"Hard to beat it. Great terrain. Great views. Great condo options. And the best kids programs anywhere. If you have a family and are going to take a ski trip, you are crazy not to go to Smuggs."

Read the Smuggs review in the 2017 SKI Winter Travel Guide.
Since the Winter of 1987/88 we have surveyed our guests and asked them "How Do You Like Us?" We use the survey results to refine our programs, activities and amenities to bring our guests the Best Resort For Family Fun Anywhere!

The internet has evolved to provide instant information about anything and everything, and you can find reviews about Smugglers' on many sites. We decided to share with you what our guests tell us in our surveys. We commit to you to give a balanced, candid report and let you decide.

Winter 2016-2017 Guest Reviews

John from Orleans, Ontario
Stayed from 01/04/2017-01/06/2017

"Well designed area around village, easy to get anywhere and shuttle buses always ready. A lot of staff to help with everything from activities to guest services. Impressed with the snowmaking and grooming. If not a skier, many activities to keep people busy and even at night, the tubing and fireworks were very good. The accommodations were great for two people and had everything including a washer/dryer."

Regina from Oshawa, Ontario
Stayed 01/02/2017-01/07/2017

"Can't wait for next year's vacation at Smuggs. My son is looking forward to the new center [FunZone 2.0] being open so he can try the Ninja course. His skiing improved immensely over the week thanks to the amazing instructors. We are no HUGE fans of the Smuggs experience."

Debbie from Toronto, Ontario
Stayed 01/02/2017-01/05/2017

"We enjoyed ourselves very much. There was so much to do, it was hard to rein the kids in - they couldn't do everything and have time to ski, too! Overall, we had a very nice family trip. We have never taken a family trip to a resort that included such a wide variety of activities. The kids enjoyed all the activities and we (the parents) were amazed that we could actually learn to snowboard at our ages!"

Laura from Kingston, Ontario
Stayed 01/01/2017-01/05/2017

"Excellent lodging, excellent instructors. Overall a fabulous trip. We would come back again for sure if we had the chance. We loved the experience. It was a great first trip for our kids. They are asking to go back already."

Ruth from Cambridge, MA
Stayed 12/28/2016-01/01/2017

"For years I worked for a major travel company and hired tour directors. I don't know how you find your staff, but I'd hire every one of them. Friendly, patient, and delightful."

Glenn from Huguenot, NY
Stayed from 12/23/2016-12/27/2016

"Awesome trip. Having skied much of the east, Smugglers' definitely is near top. Myself and my daughter had a great time. Now that it's just the 2 of us, we would like to thank all for a great time, and memories."

Monica from Brooklyn, NY
Stayed 12/22/2016-12/26/2016

"Wonderful! Great vacation for the family - kids, my husband and I, and grandparents all enjoyed our stay. Ski school was fantastic, we took a private lesson and instructors were great, really nice and helpful staff."

Delenn from Houston, TX
Stayed 12/19/2016-12/23/2016

"It was exactly what we wanted, researched, planned for, hoped for and had promised ours sons! We are already planning for next year!!! My sons' miss the mountains, people, our "Snow Home" and can't wait to return!!!"

Timothy from Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Stayed 12/18/2016-12/23/2016

"Not only is Smuggs great for kids but us older folks still enjoy it as much, if not more than when we had kids with us."

Ian from Philadelphia, PA
Stayed 12/15/2016-12/18/2016

"We had an absolutely wonderful time. We skied most of the time and found that and our room fabulous."

Danielle from Vaudreuil, Quebec, Canada
Stayed 12/09/2016-12/11/2016

"Great. Very beautiful setting. Skiing was superb for opening season. Room was fantastic. Fully equipped kitchen. Bed comfy. Will be back."
Click on the links below to read more comments.

Winter 2015-2016 Guest Reviews
Patrick from Teaneck, NJ
Stayed 03/26/2016-03/29/2016

"We had a wonderful time. My wife, who does not ski, has even thoroughly enjoyed her time. The opportunities for my daughter were more than we could ask for. She became a much better skier after taking lessons the past two days. And I have had a great time on the mountain."

Jason from Southington, CT
Stayed 03/24/2016-03/26/2016

"I can speak for all parties involved that when I say our mini-vacay was incredible. Of the 3 adults and 7 children ALL spoke highly of their experience there. We instantly made a pact to return next season ... but for a longer period of time. Thanks for helping make lasting memories."

Paul from Ottawa, Ontario
Stayed 03/18/2016-03/20/2016

"We love Smugglers' Notch - we come very year and every year seems to surpass our expectations. Everyone is extremely friendly, the price is affordable and the hill offers a challenge. It was a wonderful weekend!"

Daniel from Burlington, Ontario
Stayed 03/14/2016-03/19/2016

"We have been to Smuggs for the past 3 years. It is a great family vacation. The amenities and the ski/snowboard programs that you have available for the whole family make and have made our 3 separate visits very memorable. We have been very pleased with the accommodations. The village is exactly what we are looking for."

Robert from Port Elgin, Ontario
Stayed 03/05/2016-03/12/2016

"Smugglers' Notch has been our "go-to" winter vacation. Memorable family times. When staff says, "Welcome home!", you know the thought and care put into ensuring vacationers an excellent time is second to none! It just feels like home!

Paul from Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Stayed 02/27/2016-03/05/2016

"As we have experienced in the past Smuggs was very accommodating in every way. From the check-in to the service in the restaurants, we were treated with exceptional courtesy. All of our expectations were met. The staff at the lifts and in the village stores were excellent. Thank you to you and your team for making our ski vacation memorable."

Timothy from Manlius, NY
Stayed 02/14/2016-02/21/2016

"Despite the ski conditions, I was happy to notice upgrades to the resort... The new sleeper sofa was stylish and comfortable. The granite kitchen counters looked nice. The fire pit by the ice cream shop was a nice warm meeting place. The shelter by the welcome sign protected us from the elements while waiting for the bus."

Maria from Colts Neck, NJ
Stayed 02/07/2016-02/14/2016

"A great time to spend with the family. Although the snow conditions were less than optimal, Smuggs had plenty of other activities to keep us occupied. I went on FREE winter walks. The kids were able to swim. The family went ice skating. The older ones enjoyed air-boarding. Also the older kids were able to use the shuttle and hang out by themselves which the parents, as well as they, enjoyed."

Dave from Auburndale, MA
Stayed 02/07/2016-02/14/2016

"I simply love everything about Smuggs. The scenery is breathtaking, the terrain is some of the best in NE, and the vibe is relaxed. I realize we are having a difficult snow year, but I commend the crew for making conditions very skiable. Our room was clean when we arrived, and the check in staff could not have been more helpful ... A job well done by everybody."

Melissa from Baton Rouge, LA
Stayed 02/07/2016-02/12/2016

"Fun. Fantastic. Family friendly. We are from Baton Rouge, Louisiana, so it was our first time seeing snow and skiing. Our two young daughters (ages 3 and 5) loved ski school, sledding, tubing, ice skating, building snowmen and eating sugar snow. My husband and I also enjoyed our time on the slopes, and we took full advantage of the great dining options and outdoor hot tubs in the evenings. We are so glad that we got to experience it all at Smugglers' Notch."

Timothy from Smiths, Bermuda
Stayed 02/06/2016-02/11/2016

"Our kids love Smugglers' Notch Resort. We were thinking of trying out 'West' in 2017 but the kids say SMUGGS SMUGGS SMUGGS all the way :) they love everything about the resort and so do we as parents. If our kids are happy it makes for a great family vacation."

Diane from Southington, CT
Stayed 02/05/2016-02/07/2016

"Very nice as always! Conditions were impressively good considering the lack of snow. Every member of staff, myself and others around me dealt with, were very courteous and professional ... Our condo was ready upon arrival and was very clean as usual. I even left a pillow behind and notified lost and found. They located it and are already shipping it out. I work in a business which strives on customer service as many of them do. I understand the effort that is needed to provide excellent customer service. I must say that each and every one of the staff I made contact with over the weekend met and exceeded expectations. Thank you guys for a great weekend!"

Jay from Mechanicsburg, PA
Stayed 02/01/2016-02/07/2016

"Great vacation, the accommodations were very nice and well maintained. The mountain staff were wonderful to deal with as well as being very polite and friendly. We are looking forward to returning next winter."

Elaine from Lindsay, Ontario
Stayed 01/27/2016-02/03/2016

"Excellent. As a pair of seniors we did have some reservation about vacationing at a "family" resort. We will be back. We liked the ambiance, the atmosphere, the friendliness of staff and other guests. Kids just add to the joy of a fun day on the slopes. Great options for food. Enjoyed the pool and skating. Skied all 3 mountains and were very pleased with the conditions in a tough winter, condo was perfect...all we needed and wanted."

Jeanette from Hollywood, MD
Stayed 01/23/2016-01/30/2016

"We'd spent the same week, same condo at Smugglers' last year and returned because we really enjoyed it. Smugglers' staff are super-friendly, always greeting us as we walk around the resort. Services are provided quickly; it is so easy to rent equipment, book lessons, etc., with the option of charging them to a room or paying on the spot. And the variety of opportunities/activities adds a lot to the whole experience. While we only skied (and took lessons) a year ago, this year we also snowshoed, had dinner on the mountain top, and enjoyed the band at Bootleggers on Thursday night. Next year, I'm sure we'll do even more."

Wendy from Federalsburg, MD
Stayed 01/23/2016-01/25/2016

"We really liked the relaxed vibe... everyone was extremely nice. The condo was nicer than your standard ski resort, and the condition of most of the trails was EXCELLENT."

Stephanie from Leicester, MA
Stayed 01/21/2016-01/24/2016

"Our family had never been on a winter ski and stay vacation. Our children ages are 10 and 12. We are all intermediate skiers and were extremely excited to visit a large mountain. When we first arrived the size of the mountain was very intimidating for the kids, but once we went up the lifts and were able to take in all the beautiful scenery the mountain size jitters went away. We had packed with us some things to do when we were "taking a break from skiing" like cribbage and a few movies but with all the activities available from tubing and ice skating to swimming and sock puppet making we didn't need to dig into our "take a break from skiing" things. We had a wonderful time here and would recommend families here with children of all ages. We did feel the lifts were a bit old and it took sometime to get to the top but after talking with some of the staff we realized the slower the lift the less amount of people at one time on the mountain, which we feel is much better and safer for all. Your mountain has provided us with a winter vacation we will cherish forever."

Traci from Daytona Beach, FL
Stayed 01/14/2016-01/17/2016

"As always everyone made us feel very special. They went out of their way to accommodate our every need. Stacey "in activities" was exceptional! We somehow got our reservation cancelled on the CatTrax and she set up another time so we could get that experience. She called and checked back with us to make sure we had a great time. And we did! The guide for that, Hugh, made our ride to the top of Madonna terrific. The people that run the snowmobile tours were fantastic too. They helped me over come my fear of driving one of the machines. The guides for the morning walks were knowledgeable and you could tell they loved what they were doing. We also did the snowshoe family walk with hot cider. Our guide Seth took us on a great trek. He got my teenager to open up and enjoy the whole experience. He went out of his way to make sure we had a safe fun trip... Everyone, absolutely everyone was exceptional! Thank you so much for providing such a wonderful vacation."

Michelle from Bronxville, NY
Stayed 01/13/2016-01/18/2016

"Smugglers' Notch is a fantastic place for meeting all of the needs of families: both kids and adults. I love that we don't have to drive anywhere once we arrive and still have such great variety in terms of food, entertainment, and skiing terrain. Fabulous place that the whole family looks forward to returning to each year!"

Paula S., Ontario, Canada (media guest)
Stayed 01/10/2016-01/14/2016

"What an incredible time we had! You make it hard to leave! We flew in via Porter which is almost effortless from Toronto. We arrived to an amazing space and were surprised how well equipped and large it was. Such a great space! But the real treasure here is your staff. Ski instructors are exceptional! We can't even begin to say enough great things about them. Loved every moment and would not hesitate to return! Great ski hills and such super children's specialists. We were blown away by staff."

Chris from Casselberry, FL
Stayed 01/08/2016-01/11/2016

"We had a great time! This was my son's first time seeing snow. The resort was lovely and convenient. The room was very comfortable. All the staff were great, friendly and helpful. My son was blown away by the experience. I think we'd be very glad to do it again."

Renee from East Longmeadow, MA
Stayed 01/08/2016-01/10/2016

"We had an excellent time here at Smugglers' Notch. I don't think any of us expected to have as much fun as we did. The condominium was spacious and provided us with the comforts of home. We are already eager to get back!"

Debbie from Ft. Wayne, IN
Stayed 01/05/2016-01/10/2016

"We had a great time. There were so many activities we had trouble deciding which to do. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly."

Maria from Miami, FL
Stayed 12/30/2015-01/03/2016

"Extremely impressed - we had a great time and my grandson did not want to leave. We are planning on coming back - we loved your children and adult activities. Thank you for making us have a great time."

Kenneth from Holland, MI
Stayed 12/27/2015-01/03/2016

"Amazing! Love our annual tradition of family vacation at Smuggs. We have been coming for 15 years. Now there are 20 of us, with kids of our own in two units. My 3 yr old said as we were leaving 'I'm so sad to leave the snow and Grandpa but I know we will come back again and again.'"

Robert from Doylestown, PA
Stayed 12/19/2015-12/26/2015

"We love Smuggs and although it was not a good week to ski there were plenty of activities to keep us busy and a wonderful cozy unit to allow us to relax and enjoy VT."

Luke from Boston, MA
Stayed 12/10/2015-12/13/2015

"We had such a great time! The little guy was up on skis for the first time and he got to meet Santa and have some Elves come visit for story time. He was in heaven!"

Gregory from Pasadena, CA
Stayed 12/08/2015-12/13/2015

"It was amazing, even with out a lot of snow. It was so amazing, we were thinking about timeshare ownership. The staff was super friendly and helpful. It was such a great retreat and the lodging was so relaxing. The surrounding areas were so relaxing to walk around and the other guest, from all over the country and Canada, were very outgoing and friendly."

Eric from Queensbury, NY
Stayed 12/04/2015-12/07/2015

"For my family's first experience with skiing, I could not have asked for a better place. It was the perfect weekend. And the other families that were with us, who were already skiers, had an amazing time as well. Thank you!"

Julia from Warwick, RI
Stayed 12/04/2015-12/06/2015

"This was our first time to Smugglers' Notch and we enjoyed every minute. We were sad to leave by the end of the weekend. The entire staff was very nice and professional, not to mention very helpful. We hope to come back in February or March."

Tina from Ottawa, ON
Stayed 12/03/2015-12/06/2015

"Smuggs is a very family oriented resort with friendly staff, clean and spacious accommodations and lots of different activities for the whole family on top of skiing."
CLOSE


Winter 2014-2015 Guest Reviews
Kevin from Cranford, NJ
Stayed 04/04/2015-04/11/2015

"Everything was really great. Most people we met were incredibly helpful and courteous. The ski conditions were phenomenal for this time of year. The restaurants - the wait staff was always superb and the food amazing! We had a great time. We loved it! Overall, we had an amazing vacation. Our 13 year old who snowboards said it 'was the best vacation we ever took' ...this comes from a kid who has been to Disney 3 times, Universal Studios and the Caribbean. Thank you for making our family vacation so great!!"

Kristin from Ithaca, NY
Stayed 03/30/2015-04/03/2015

"It was great. We all had a great time. I am not a downhill skier and would not have enjoyed this vacation as much if it were not for the Nordic Center and the fantastic guides/staff there... My whole family did a moonlight cross country ski and had a great time. Because of the Nordic center guides/staff we will consider returning next year!"

Patrick from Sterling, MA
Stayed 03/26/2015-03/30/2015

"Smuggs is amazing! Lots of fun. We loved the condo and the fast shuttle. Area was clean and well maintained. Skiing was awesome!"

Lynne from Raleigh, NC
Stayed 03/22/2015-03/28/2015

"This vacation was fantastic! It was our first time staying at your resort and the goal of the trip was for my two daughters, ages 7 and 10, to learn how to ski. I had not skied in 20 years and was delighted to get back on the slopes while they received safe instruction. My daughter...said that the ski instructors were "beyond amazing." This trip could have been a total flop as it was a total unknown to us but instead it was a huge success."

Jeffrey from River Edge, NJ
Stayed 03/21/2015-03/28/2015

"It is easier to see why SKI magazine rates you as the number 1 resort! Again it is the personal experience of the people that make this resort amazing! Everyone working for the resort is friendly and knowledgeable in their fields! The ski and snowboard instructors are the best! The shuttle drivers are friendly, the head of housekeeping would check in on us to see if we needed anything! Everyone has a smile on their face and this really does translate into a positive experience!"

Sally from Mount Airy, MD
Stayed 03/14/2015-03/16/2015

"Our vacation was very short, just two nights but it gave us a great feel for the resort. Our room location was fantastic. We had a 3yr old so we could walk to Treasures, the village center, and lifts. That was wonderful. The staff at Treasures was excellent and they even had fish tanks, my son went nuts over that. The dining and food was also very good, having after ski activities and pool much added bonus. Our room was clean and provided everything we needed."

Bianca from Memphis, TN
Stayed 03/13/2015-03/18/2015

"We had a great time at Smugglers' Notch! My husband had a wonderful experience with his advanced snowboard lessons, my 6 year old learned to ride his snowboard, everyone at Treasures was great and my 2 year old loved it, and I had some good instructors for my mellow skiing abilities."

Leslie from Ottawa, Ont, Canada
Stayed 03/07/2015-03/13/2015

"Your lifties make the whole experience so positive. I hope they know that! They are so professional, welcoming and friendly."

June from Lansdale, PA
Stayed 03/01/2015-03/06/2015

"This was our first "snow" vacation as a family and it was the "BEST". Our kids were beginner skiers when we arrived and one left skiing down a black diamond run and the others are confident green terrain skiers! The ski sport university is very well staffed with knowledgeable, kind and patient instructors. ... Tubing, snow shoeing, air-boarding and the kid snowmobiles also added to the excitement of our vacation. The kids loved it and want to know when we can go back! Great job Smugglers' Notch! This resort lived up to the hype!"

Rachel from Sharon, MA
Stayed 02/17/2015-02/20/2015

"This was one of the best family vacations we have ever taken, and certainly the best family ski vacation! My husband described it as the 'Disney of ski vacations.' We LOVED it! After only 12 hours of being at the resort, our teenager asked if we could stay longer and come back again next year! She continued to have an outstanding experience, and tons of freedom. We felt safe letting her roam since the shuttle could take her to and from the teen center..."

Karen from Merrimac, MA
Stayed 02/14/2015-02/21/2015

"This was a wonderful vacation, one of our best ever. The Snow Sports University was wonderful and taught my daughter not only how to ski but to love it as well. Treasures was amazing for my 1 year old. The activities for both adults and kids were fantastic and just added to the skiing experience. It was very cold but we all still had a fantastic time. The staff was amazing and we couldn't have asked for a more helpful or pleasant group. We particularly loved the shuttle drivers..."

Elizabeth from Suffield, CT
Stayed 02/13/2015-02/17/2015

"Very favorable! We keep coming back to Smugglers' Notch because it is truly a family friendly ski resort and we love the all day ski school for the children. They are becoming really good skiers and are enjoying it tremendously! Can't say enough about the quality of the instruction or about their counselors - top notch!

Jonathan from Staten Island, NY
Stayed 02/13/2015-02/17/2015

"We absolutely love the resort and wish to come back every year. Everyone at the Resort was extremely helpful. The instructors in ski and snowboarding school were phenomenal. There's something on the mountain for every age and skill level. This resort is the total package. Superb mountain, superb lodging, superb food, superb lessons/camp/instruction and a superb staff."

Anoli from Totowa, NJ
Stayed 02/12/2015-02/16/2015

"We have been coming to Smuggs every single year since 2008. It is absolutely our MOST FAVORITE PLACE to ski! We ski with a big group of friends and family and every year, the group grows bigger and bigger because of one reason: Smuggs is like home! You can't find this kind of New England charm anywhere else on the east coast. It's a small mountain, but the runs are immense. It would take you days to hit every single run at Smuggs. The people are the best. There's something very special about the commnity at Smuggs. It's like one big family where everyone knows your name."

Dave from Old Greenwich, CT
Stayed 02/11/2015-02/15/2015

"Very positive - well appointed, great ski options and lots to do for the whole family. Treasures childcare was great - our 2 year old adored it and ran in with a smile on her face everyday - the smile was still firmly on at the end of each day too."

Matthew from Oakdale, NY
Stayed 02/05/2015-02/07/2015

"Weather and conditions were great. Room was nice and clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Shuttle busses were always available. We had a great time and would highly recommend the resort ot anyone looking for a nice family vacation."

Carlos from Katy, TX
Stayed 01/30/2015-02/06/2015

"A great unexpected pleasure, I'd never skied NE and had low expectations. I was also surprised to find all of the alternative activities available for my non-skiing wife."

Cathy from Sutton, MA
Stayed 01/23/15-01/26/15

"Awesome. We come to Smuggs often and love it. The lift operators are always very friendly and positive. There is no better family vacation then a ski vacation and no better place for it then Smuggs. We have been coming to Smuggs winter and summer for 6 years and love it more each time. There are activities for all ages so as your family grows, they move onto new activities."

Anthony from Lancaster, PA
Stayed 01/18/15-01/23/15

"This was one of the best vacations I have taken in years. This is the first time I didn't want to come home. The skiing conditions were excellent. I can't wait to come back."

William from Scotch Plains, NJ
Stayed 01/16/15-01/18/15

"Great trip. Kids had a great time. They went swimming, tubing, ice skating and skiing. The meals were delicious and the condos were well maintained ... The employees at the ski rental were very helpful to the newbie skiers. The skiers also enjoyed their lessons. Nothing bad to report, great time and hopefully we will be back in 2016."

James from Billerica, MA
Stayed 01/09/2015-01/16/2015

"Would rather be at Smugglers than anywhere else when it comes to summer and winter family fun. The level of service has always been top notch and we have never been disappointed...ever."

Pasquale from Levittown, NY
Stayed 1/8/15-1/11/15

"Everything down to the shuttles was perfect! The hot tubs were the perfect end to our day of snowboarding! Every single detail in Smugglers' Notch was thought of with comfort and professionalism!! Thank you for an amazing stay."

William from Huntington Station, NY
Stayed 1/4/15-1/11/15

"The amenities were exceptional, the accommodations were very clean and the proximity to the slopes was perfect."

CLOSE

start planning
date picker
date picker
go
Call direct for the best buy

Get winter's best rates: January is Super Saver Month!
Read our latest guest reviews here
Sign Up for eNotch News Your source for Smuggs news and special offers.