1. Fall
  2. Summer
  3. Spring
  4. Winter

Guest Reviews

#1 Family Resort in the Northeast FamilyFun Magazine

Smugglers' Notch Resort Guest Reviews

Read our guests' comments...


The SKI Magazine annual reader survey results are in and we're thrilled to announce that Smugglers' has been voted the top resort for Kid-Friendly Activities in the Eastern U.S. and Canada and #1 Resort in the Eastern U.S.!

A few of the comments from SKI Magazine readers ...

"Customer Service is second to none! The kids programs are better than anywhere in the world!"

"The resort clearly understands their customer and what they value. The staff will do anything they can to accommodate your needs. You are treated like family!"

"Smuggs family reputation leaves out the fact that they have some of the best expert terrain in the East. Awesome steeps and sidecountry."

"Hard to beat it. Great terrain. Great views. Great condo options. And the best kids programs anywhere. If you have a family and are going to take a ski trip, you are crazy not to go to Smuggs."

Read the Smuggs review in the 2017 SKI Winter Travel Guide.
Since the Winter of 1987/88 we have surveyed our guests and asked them "How Do You Like Us?" We use the survey results to refine our programs, activities and amenities to bring our guests the Best Resort For Family Fun Anywhere!

The internet has evolved to provide instant information about anything and everything, and you can find reviews about Smugglers' on many sites. We decided to share with you what our guests tell us in our surveys. We commit to you to give a balanced, candid report and let you decide.

Winter 2016-2017 Guest Reviews

Tim from Cadillac, MI
Stayed 03/26/2017-03/28/2017

"We loved the mountain. The grooming was very good and we really enjoyed the long double chairlifts. Could also see that snowmaking is updated and important at Smuggs. That old school charm is lost at most resorts but is alive and well at Smuggs."

Jon from Kensington, MD
Stayed 03/18/2017-03/25/2017

"While the facilities at Smuggs are great, it is the people (many of whom have long history and relationships) that make is such a special place!"

Rebecca from Gores Landing, Ontario
Stayed 03/13/2017-03/19/2017

"Smugglers' Notch was a home away from home. Everyone we encountered was so friendly and easy going. We will definitely be returning again next winter and possibly bringing others along! Smugglers' Notch tops it for family fun and relaxation with outstanding natural beauty to go along with it."

Judith from Sarnia, Ontario
Stayed 03/13/2017-03/17/2017

"We enjoyed our stay very much. The condo was perfect for our size of family. The lessons were good as well as the instructors. The efficiency of the shuttle was helpful for finding our way around the resort."

Adam from Toronto, Ontario
Stayed 03/12/2017-03/17/2017

"Great family fun vacation. Skiing was great, loved the family activities at night, and the shuttle made it really easy to get everywhere."

Kenneth from Ridgefield, CT
Stayed 03/11/2017-03/18/2017

"Whenever we talk skiing with families with kids (on lift rides at other ski areas, at the Mountain Grille Bar, you name it), we recommend Smuggs. It has given us so many "priceless" family memories over the many years we've been going there."

Jeanine from Danbury, CT
Stayed 03/10/2016-03/12/2017

"We had a great time. Overall a very positive experience. Fun for the kids and comfort for the adults. The staff was very accommodating before and during the trip."

Willis from Southington, CT
Stayed 03/03/2017-03/08/2017

"Awesome!! Smugglers' Notch is a terrific resort. Clean, lots of things to do and see, and the staff are friendly, experienced, and eager to help. We loved our stay!"

Michael from Mountain Lakes, NJ
Stayed 02/21/2017-02/24/2017

"Smuggs provided us with the best of all worlds: safe, individualized, age appropriate, experiences as well as opportunities to connect as a family unit. We came away refreshed, revitalized, and reconnected!"

Lois from Mahwah, NJ
Stayed 02/21/2017-02/24/2017

"My husband and I had a relaxing few days while our son was at ski camp and ski lessons. We knew he was in a safe environment, and would be taken care of."

Sandy from Roslyn, NY
Stayed 02/19/2017-02/24/2017

"We had an enjoyable time. Kids enjoyed snowboarding camp and I enjoyed the show shoe trails through the Nordic center. As a runner and not a skier, it was great to have the option to snow shoe your many trails. With my kids happily tucked away in ski school I was able to enjoy my version of a winter vacation. We've been to many ski resorts and I've never seen such elaborate "other" winter sports available."

Teresa from Brooklyn, NY
Stayed 02/18/2017-02/25/2017

"It was absolutely wonderful. Everyone we interacted with, especially the Smugglers' employees were so consistently awesome, kid friendly, accommodating and helpful. The resort and accommodations were beautiful and activities/lesson were fun and helpful!!! Can't wait to return and recommend Smugglers' to friends and family! Definitely the best family resort I've ever been to."

Brian from New York, NY
Stayed 02/18/2017-02/24/2017

"Took my 6 year old and 4 year old on the same trip my parents took me on to learn how to ski over 30 years ago. Kids had a blast. Excellent ski school. The mountains are better than I remembered them to be. My parents joined us so we had 3 generations skiing at Smuggs. Will be interested in returning. Really liked how kid friendly the vacation was."

Jeanette from Lexington, MA
Stayed 02/17-2017-02/24-2017

"We had a great vacation. My daughter participated in snowboard camp and had a blast. The instructors ere friendly, patient and helped her become a better rider. I also took a few lessons and I cannot be more positive about my private lessons ... The ski and snowboard school is by far one of the better schools in the northeast. The employees of the resort are incredibly friendly and helpful."

Ellen from East Moriches, NY
Stayed 02/12/2017-02/17/2017

"This was my 4th time to Smugglers' and would definitely return again. I love the convenience of the shops, restaurants, and rentals; how everything is within walking distance!! Being close to a lift chair is awesome as well. The fireworks display was a beautiful addition to our stay."

Michael from East Hampton, CT
Stayed 02/10/2017-02/12/2017

"Smuggs is great, it maintains its vintage mountain charm without feeling dated. The mountain is challenging and never crowded. I'll keep coming back!"

Lorraine from Hampton Bays, NY
Stayed 02/03/2017-02/06/2017

"We loved it! The accommodation was great. The mountain terrain was awesome. The shuttle service was awesome. The woman's snowboarding clinic was terrific. We are going back and can't wait to do so."

Liam from Davidsonville, MD
Stayed 01/29/2017-02/03/2017

"It was a great vacation. The facilities were great we enjoyed every part of the activities offered. We did the snowmobile tour which was very fun. The shuttle service was excellent always there fast and the drivers were very nice. The mountain itself was in great condition always groomed and packed. All the employees were very cheerful and polite. We want to take another vacation to Smugglers' Notch."

Keith from Forked River, NJ
Stayed 01/29/2017-02/03/2017

"It was awesome! We had a 1 1/2 year old with us, and there was plenty of stuff for our family to do. The whole resort was very family oriented and friendly. We enjoyed all the onsite activities. We also like that we were able to park our truck and not have to use it again until we checked out, we loved that everything was onsite! "

Sarah from North Creek, NY
Stayed 01/27/2017-01/30/2017

"The staff were great and very helpful! The room was so clean and very comfy. We had a great time here and can't wait to come back! We will be recommending this place to other people."

Chad from Hudson, NH
Stayed 01/26/2017-01/29/2017

"Condo was super clean and comfortable and the kids loved the pool. We lucked out with a foot of snow over two days which was a nice surprise. Mountain was perfect for us and we do not have a bad thing to say. The kids already want to come back."

Kevin from Shrewsbury, MA
Stayed 01/22/2017-01/24/2017

"This will be our second year staying at your resort. I have been skiing for quite sometime (age 65) and have skied with my children and now grandchildren and would say without hesitation that Smuggs has got it right."

Brenton from New York, NY
Stayed 01/20/2017-01/23/2017

"Absolutely magnificent! The mountain is under-rated, staff and locals extremely friendly, and the accommodations were above expectation."

Kristen from Stratford, Ontario
Stayed 01/19/2017-01/22/2017

"We had a great family trip. The 1 bedroom accommodation was ideal and provided lots of space. My kids day camps were beneficial and they had a good time. Would definitely recommend Smugglers'."

Joshua from Brewster, MA
Stayed 01/18/2017-01/22/2017

"This was a fantastic vacation! We love every aspect of Smuggs, especially how family-friendly it is. We recommend it to most people we talk to, and are excited to vacation there each year! We love all the activities, especially for kids, at Smuggs! There is something for them to do every day! We make good use of the pools as well, and can't wait for the new FunZone to open! This is what sets Smuggs apart from other ski mountains in our opinion. There are a number of other mountains closer to us, but we keep coming back to Smuggs because of these activities, the ease of the shuttle and Village Center, and the high quality of the condos."

Samantha from Wilmington, NC
Stayed 01/13/2017-01/17/2017

"Our overall impression of the vacation was what a sweet home away from home get away. We were able to enjoy the beautiful scenery of the VT mountains and enjoyed our time on the slops, but also appreciated coming back at night to what still felt like a home where we could sit by the fire and enjoy conversations around the couch and play board games."

Mike from Boston, MA
Stayed 01/13/2017-01/17/2017

We had a great time. Condo was clean and perfect for my group. Ski lessons for my grandchildren were very helpful. My granddaughter especially enjoyed her instructor. Skiing was great for everyone. Could not have had a better ski vacation. Thanks for everything."

Jay from Newtown, CT
Stayed 01/13/2017-01/16/2017

"Hands down, the most friendly and accommodating staff at any resort in VT and beyond. I travel with three kids, which is challenging, but everyone at the resort seems to intuitively know how to make everything easy."

Richard from Groton, CT
Stayed 01/13/17-01/15/17

"Best winter vacation my family and I have taken. From the condo to the slopes and everything in between, we were fully satisfied. Not only did I enjoy my stay, I am already looking to book for next year."

Tiffany from Hoboken, NJ
Stayed 01/09/2017-01/14/2017

"Our vacation was amazing! Everything was so incredibly well thought out. Every program and staff member really left us at ease. My children were happy to say goodbye to me in the morning and reluctant to leave the fun in the afternoon! We have gone on expensive family resort vacations in the Caribbean and I must say I much much prefer this vacation. Every part of the resort was so well organized, from coloring books at a kids table at check in, to entertaining our antsy little ones while we waited for our meals. Getting around the resort was a breeze and the resort had everything we could possibly want."

Cheryl from Queensbury, NY
Stayed 01/05/2017-01/08/2017

"My husband and I came up in the fall to check out the resort. We had a great time and OMG how beautiful it was. We came back with our adult children for a ski weekend. It was our first time staying at a resort like this for skiing. We all had a great time, so much so, that our daughters were checking out real estate options in the area. We will certainly be back. My husband and I talked of how wonderful the staff was and the many options for children of all ages. If we are blessed with grandchildren down the road we would definitely bring them here to learn to ski, as were were so impressed with the programs, staff, and overall safe family atmosphere Smuggs offers. Whoever is training your staff - well done. You are on par with Disney's quality. Top notch resort."

John from Orleans, Ontario
Stayed from 01/04/2017-01/06/2017

"Well designed area around village, easy to get anywhere and shuttle buses always ready. A lot of staff to help with everything from activities to guest services. Impressed with the snowmaking and grooming. If not a skier, many activities to keep people busy and even at night, the tubing and fireworks were very good. The accommodations were great for two people and had everything including a washer/dryer."

Regina from Oshawa, Ontario
Stayed 01/02/2017-01/07/2017

"Can't wait for next year's vacation at Smuggs. My son is looking forward to the new center [FunZone 2.0] being open so he can try the Ninja course. His skiing improved immensely over the week thanks to the amazing instructors. We are no HUGE fans of the Smuggs experience."

Debbie from Toronto, Ontario
Stayed 01/02/2017-01/05/2017

"We enjoyed ourselves very much. There was so much to do, it was hard to rein the kids in - they couldn't do everything and have time to ski, too! Overall, we had a very nice family trip. We have never taken a family trip to a resort that included such a wide variety of activities. The kids enjoyed all the activities and we (the parents) were amazed that we could actually learn to snowboard at our ages!"

Peter from Toledo, Ontario
Stayed 01/01/2017-01/08/2017

"Our family had another great week at Smuggs. The mountain was in great shape with a majority of the runs open. We enjoyed the family activities after spending the day on the mountain skiing and riding. We really enjoyed "Family Feud" with Goodtime Charlie (new to us this trip)."

Laura from Kingston, Ontario
Stayed 01/01/2017-01/05/2017

"Excellent lodging, excellent instructors. Overall a fabulous trip. We would come back again for sure if we had the chance. We loved the experience. It was a great first trip for our kids. They are asking to go back already."

Stephanie from Toronto, Ontario
Stayed 12/30/2016-01/06/2017

"Great family holiday spot in a cozy and relaxed setting near quaint New England villages. Everything was seamless, so I could truly relax knowing our son was going to be well taken care of."

Ruth from Cambridge, MA
Stayed 12/28/2016-01/01/2017

"For years I worked for a major travel company and hired tour directors. I don't know how you find your staff, but I'd hire every one of them. Friendly, patient, and delightful."

Laura from Seabrook, TX
Stayed 12/25/2016-01/01/2017

"We felt Smugglers' Notch Resort was a very nice, well run resort. Our room was very nice, perfect for our family. We were all basically beginners at skiing and snowboarding so we were happy with the number and variety of beginner trails available. We liked the variety of activities available and the variety of food options. The fireworks display and torch procession on New Year's eve was fun."

Glenn from Huguenot, NY
Stayed from 12/23/2016-12/27/2016

"Awesome trip. Having skied much of the east, Smugglers' definitely is near top. Myself and my daughter had a great time. Now that it's just the 2 of us, we would like to thank all for a great time, and memories."

Monica from Brooklyn, NY
Stayed 12/22/2016-12/26/2016

"Wonderful! Great vacation for the family - kids, my husband and I, and grandparents all enjoyed our stay. Ski school was fantastic, we took a private lesson and instructors were great, really nice and helpful staff."

David from Amherst, MA
Stayed 12/21/2016-12/25/2016

"As usual, we love being at Smuggs. The people who work there are all so friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is lovely in being informal and casual, yet having a nice array of amenities and luxurious."

Delenn from Houston, TX
Stayed 12/19/2016-12/23/2016

"It was exactly what we wanted, researched, planned for, hoped for and had promised ours sons! We are already planning for next year!!! My sons' miss the mountains, people, our "Snow Home" and can't wait to return!!!"

Timothy from Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Stayed 12/18/2016-12/23/2016

"Not only is Smuggs great for kids but us older folks still enjoy it as much, if not more than when we had kids with us."

Ian from Philadelphia, PA
Stayed 12/15/2016-12/18/2016

"We had an absolutely wonderful time. We skied most of the time and found that and our room fabulous."

Danielle from Vaudreuil, Quebec, Canada
Stayed 12/09/2016-12/11/2016

"Great. Very beautiful setting. Skiing was superb for opening season. Room was fantastic. Fully equipped kitchen. Bed comfy. Will be back."
Click on the links below to read more comments.

Winter 2015-2016 Guest Reviews
Patrick from Teaneck, NJ
Stayed 03/26/2016-03/29/2016

"We had a wonderful time. My wife, who does not ski, has even thoroughly enjoyed her time. The opportunities for my daughter were more than we could ask for. She became a much better skier after taking lessons the past two days. And I have had a great time on the mountain."

Jason from Southington, CT
Stayed 03/24/2016-03/26/2016

"I can speak for all parties involved that when I say our mini-vacay was incredible. Of the 3 adults and 7 children ALL spoke highly of their experience there. We instantly made a pact to return next season ... but for a longer period of time. Thanks for helping make lasting memories."

Paul from Ottawa, Ontario
Stayed 03/18/2016-03/20/2016

"We love Smugglers' Notch - we come very year and every year seems to surpass our expectations. Everyone is extremely friendly, the price is affordable and the hill offers a challenge. It was a wonderful weekend!"

Daniel from Burlington, Ontario
Stayed 03/14/2016-03/19/2016

"We have been to Smuggs for the past 3 years. It is a great family vacation. The amenities and the ski/snowboard programs that you have available for the whole family make and have made our 3 separate visits very memorable. We have been very pleased with the accommodations. The village is exactly what we are looking for."

Robert from Port Elgin, Ontario
Stayed 03/05/2016-03/12/2016

"Smugglers' Notch has been our "go-to" winter vacation. Memorable family times. When staff says, "Welcome home!", you know the thought and care put into ensuring vacationers an excellent time is second to none! It just feels like home!

Paul from Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Stayed 02/27/2016-03/05/2016

"As we have experienced in the past Smuggs was very accommodating in every way. From the check-in to the service in the restaurants, we were treated with exceptional courtesy. All of our expectations were met. The staff at the lifts and in the village stores were excellent. Thank you to you and your team for making our ski vacation memorable."

Timothy from Manlius, NY
Stayed 02/14/2016-02/21/2016

"Despite the ski conditions, I was happy to notice upgrades to the resort... The new sleeper sofa was stylish and comfortable. The granite kitchen counters looked nice. The fire pit by the ice cream shop was a nice warm meeting place. The shelter by the welcome sign protected us from the elements while waiting for the bus."

Maria from Colts Neck, NJ
Stayed 02/07/2016-02/14/2016

"A great time to spend with the family. Although the snow conditions were less than optimal, Smuggs had plenty of other activities to keep us occupied. I went on FREE winter walks. The kids were able to swim. The family went ice skating. The older ones enjoyed air-boarding. Also the older kids were able to use the shuttle and hang out by themselves which the parents, as well as they, enjoyed."

Dave from Auburndale, MA
Stayed 02/07/2016-02/14/2016

"I simply love everything about Smuggs. The scenery is breathtaking, the terrain is some of the best in NE, and the vibe is relaxed. I realize we are having a difficult snow year, but I commend the crew for making conditions very skiable. Our room was clean when we arrived, and the check in staff could not have been more helpful ... A job well done by everybody."

Melissa from Baton Rouge, LA
Stayed 02/07/2016-02/12/2016

"Fun. Fantastic. Family friendly. We are from Baton Rouge, Louisiana, so it was our first time seeing snow and skiing. Our two young daughters (ages 3 and 5) loved ski school, sledding, tubing, ice skating, building snowmen and eating sugar snow. My husband and I also enjoyed our time on the slopes, and we took full advantage of the great dining options and outdoor hot tubs in the evenings. We are so glad that we got to experience it all at Smugglers' Notch."

Timothy from Smiths, Bermuda
Stayed 02/06/2016-02/11/2016

"Our kids love Smugglers' Notch Resort. We were thinking of trying out 'West' in 2017 but the kids say SMUGGS SMUGGS SMUGGS all the way :) they love everything about the resort and so do we as parents. If our kids are happy it makes for a great family vacation."

Diane from Southington, CT
Stayed 02/05/2016-02/07/2016

"Very nice as always! Conditions were impressively good considering the lack of snow. Every member of staff, myself and others around me dealt with, were very courteous and professional ... Our condo was ready upon arrival and was very clean as usual. I even left a pillow behind and notified lost and found. They located it and are already shipping it out. I work in a business which strives on customer service as many of them do. I understand the effort that is needed to provide excellent customer service. I must say that each and every one of the staff I made contact with over the weekend met and exceeded expectations. Thank you guys for a great weekend!"

Jay from Mechanicsburg, PA
Stayed 02/01/2016-02/07/2016

"Great vacation, the accommodations were very nice and well maintained. The mountain staff were wonderful to deal with as well as being very polite and friendly. We are looking forward to returning next winter."

Elaine from Lindsay, Ontario
Stayed 01/27/2016-02/03/2016

"Excellent. As a pair of seniors we did have some reservation about vacationing at a "family" resort. We will be back. We liked the ambiance, the atmosphere, the friendliness of staff and other guests. Kids just add to the joy of a fun day on the slopes. Great options for food. Enjoyed the pool and skating. Skied all 3 mountains and were very pleased with the conditions in a tough winter, condo was perfect...all we needed and wanted."

Jeanette from Hollywood, MD
Stayed 01/23/2016-01/30/2016

"We'd spent the same week, same condo at Smugglers' last year and returned because we really enjoyed it. Smugglers' staff are super-friendly, always greeting us as we walk around the resort. Services are provided quickly; it is so easy to rent equipment, book lessons, etc., with the option of charging them to a room or paying on the spot. And the variety of opportunities/activities adds a lot to the whole experience. While we only skied (and took lessons) a year ago, this year we also snowshoed, had dinner on the mountain top, and enjoyed the band at Bootleggers on Thursday night. Next year, I'm sure we'll do even more."

Wendy from Federalsburg, MD
Stayed 01/23/2016-01/25/2016

"We really liked the relaxed vibe... everyone was extremely nice. The condo was nicer than your standard ski resort, and the condition of most of the trails was EXCELLENT."

Stephanie from Leicester, MA
Stayed 01/21/2016-01/24/2016

"Our family had never been on a winter ski and stay vacation. Our children ages are 10 and 12. We are all intermediate skiers and were extremely excited to visit a large mountain. When we first arrived the size of the mountain was very intimidating for the kids, but once we went up the lifts and were able to take in all the beautiful scenery the mountain size jitters went away. We had packed with us some things to do when we were "taking a break from skiing" like cribbage and a few movies but with all the activities available from tubing and ice skating to swimming and sock puppet making we didn't need to dig into our "take a break from skiing" things. We had a wonderful time here and would recommend families here with children of all ages. We did feel the lifts were a bit old and it took sometime to get to the top but after talking with some of the staff we realized the slower the lift the less amount of people at one time on the mountain, which we feel is much better and safer for all. Your mountain has provided us with a winter vacation we will cherish forever."

Traci from Daytona Beach, FL
Stayed 01/14/2016-01/17/2016

"As always everyone made us feel very special. They went out of their way to accommodate our every need. Stacey "in activities" was exceptional! We somehow got our reservation cancelled on the CatTrax and she set up another time so we could get that experience. She called and checked back with us to make sure we had a great time. And we did! The guide for that, Hugh, made our ride to the top of Madonna terrific. The people that run the snowmobile tours were fantastic too. They helped me over come my fear of driving one of the machines. The guides for the morning walks were knowledgeable and you could tell they loved what they were doing. We also did the snowshoe family walk with hot cider. Our guide Seth took us on a great trek. He got my teenager to open up and enjoy the whole experience. He went out of his way to make sure we had a safe fun trip... Everyone, absolutely everyone was exceptional! Thank you so much for providing such a wonderful vacation."

CLOSE


start planning
date picker
date picker
Call direct for the best price

Read our latest guest reviews here
Sign Up for eNotch News Your source for Smuggs news and special offers.