1. Fall
  2. Summer
  3. Spring
  4. Winter

Summer Guest Reviews

#1 Family Resort in the U.S. independenttraveler.com

Family on tube in Little Smugglers' Lagoon

Smugglers' Notch Resort Summer Guest Reviews

Read our guest comments...

For 20 years we have surveyed our guests and asked them "How Do You Like Us?" We use the survey results to refine our programs, activities and amenities to bring our guests the Best Resort For Family Fun Anywhere!

The internet has evolved to provide instant information about anything and everything, and you can find reviews about Smugglers' on many sites. We decided to share with you what our guests tell us in our surveys. We commit to you to give a balanced, candid report and let you decide.
Morgan from Milford, MA
Stayed 07/13/2017-07/18/2017

"I'll be honest. I had my doubts that this resort could really be fun for our whole family (My pregnant self, husband, 11 y.o. and 2 y.o. daughters), but we really had a great time. There was something for all of us to enjoy! We have definitely made lasting memories and I am so glad we came."

Jen from Burlington, KY
Stayed 07/03/2017-07/08/2017

"We had a great time! My kids loved the day camp. It was a relaxing vacation and we made some great family memories. There were lots of fun activities to participate in, but plenty of time to take it easy as well. We had a great time and didn't want to leave. It's so nice (and rare) to go on a vacation that EVERYONE in the family enjoys, and this was it!"

Norman from Danbury, CT
Stayed 07/02/2017-07/08/2017

"I love it. We have been coming up to Smuggs for years. It is the one vacation I look forward to, to be able to relax and rest and be away from the world! I would go up more often if I could. I love it, it is beautiful and happy place."

Carrie from Stockton, NJ
Stayed 07/03/2017-07/05/2017

"We really enjoyed our stay at Smugglers' Notch. Our condo was spotless, and in the perfect location. We had a one bedroom condo, which suited our family of five nicely. Smugglers' Notch had something for everyone. We all wished we had more time, there was so much to do. We enjoyed it so much, during our free time we started looking at purchasing a unit."

Jen from Southington, CT
Stayed 07/02/2017-07/07/2017

"We take a few family vacations a year. Our vacations are either international or beach centered. This was our first time vacationing in VT. Your resort provided us with an incredible vacation- the perfect blend of structured entertainment and relaxation. Our only regret is not knowing about Smugglers' years ago. Thank you. It is obvious you work hard to help families enjoy themselves and make lasting memories. The level at which you strive to make your guests' experiences as perfect as possible is impressive. I hope you feel proud in knowing just how much joy you help create and spread. You have made a mark on our family... and countless others. Thank you."

Catherine from Tewksbury, MA
Stayed 07/01/2017-07/07/2017

"This was a great place to vacation for the entire family. We parked upon our arrival and everything we needed was within the resort."

Rebecca from Haviland, OH
Stayed 06/25/2017-07/02/2017

"Grandson and Grandpa went geocaching for the first time and really enjoyed it. Our experience with our 3 sons and their families made memories that will last a lifetime. Many want to do it all again."

Ellen from Sutton, MA
Stayed 06/24/2017-07/01/2017

"What an epic adventure! We did-a-cart, my son learned to skateboard and made it across the lily pads with a little help from his friends. I went down every slide and loved it. Won most historical in the Rain Gutter Regatta with the Bismarck. Played laser tag, went down the inflatable slide and across the obstacle course. We ate dinner with a magician and breakfast with a pirate. We trekked with llamas and watched dogs catch discs. Then to wrap it all up we tye-dyed Smuggs tees. This week will go down in awesome vacation history!"

Heather from North Reading, MA
Stayed 06/22/2017-06/29/2017

"It's a great family vacation, you have the flexibility of spending time alone as adults but also doing things as a family. The camps were very flexible with allowing the kids to come at any time of day if we had something else planned. We did the lunch with llamas program which was amazing."

Alexandra from Bronx, NY
Stayed 06/18/2017-06/24/2017

"This was a great vacation, it was the first relaxing trip I've been on in years. The resort is so wholesome, without bring religious or corporate. I appreciate that this was neither of those things. Children were all so well behaved, I rarely saw people on cell phones, or even taking pictures. People just seemed to be in the moment, it was wonderful."

Le Anne from Coventry, CT
Stayed 06/15/2017-06/18/2017

"We had an INCREDIBLE time! The room was very nice with all the amenities we needed, and it was a perfect location near the restaurants and main entrance. All staff were wonderful, helpful, and available. And we were so impressed by the amount of activities and loved that there was something for EVERYONE."

Beth Renee from Maryville, TN
Stayed 06/14/2017-06/21/2017

"Absolutely amazing! So many special things at the resort-we loved the llama trek. The different pools were spectacular. We have 2 teens and a toddler and the variety of the amenities for all ages was/is so appreciated. The scenery of that part of Vermont was breathtaking. All in all, we had a magical time and cannot wait to come back."

Theresa from Wisconsin Rapids
Stayed 06/09/2017-06/15/2017

"Our vacation was awesome. Great family get-together with Mom and daughters. Rooms were large and accommodating for all our needs. We enjoy the swimming pools and took several nature hikes. This was the first time any of us 9 total guests had been to Vermont! Thank you for a very enjoyable and memorable vacation!"

Summer 2016 Guest Reviews
David from Southold, NY
Stayed 08/29/2016-09/04/2016

"We had such an amazing time. We don't get to travel very often and this was a fabulous vacation for our small family. The facilities were everything we could have asked for and MORE, the staff was super friendly and the amenities were off the hook! We loved it so much that we were looking into purchasing a unit so we could be there all the time!!"

Eileen from Hoboken, NJ
Stayed 08/22/2016-08/26/2016

"We had a great time at Smugglers' and plan on returning next year for vacation. We loved all children's activities as well as the adult activities. My eight year old daughter participated in the camp for two days and she loved it! This gave my husband and I a chance to do bike riding and go on a group hike. We also really enjoyed the County Fair on Thursday!"

Catherine from Tenafly, NJ
Stayed 08/21/2016-08/26/2016

"This was a great last minute vacation plan that came together perfectly. Smugglers Notch had something for everyone to do. My kids ages 7 and 8 loved the camp and the friends they made. They joined the nature hiking group for the week and were able to see the resort and around the area through hiking with the group. They had a wonderful time at each of the evening activities and the Smuggs Country Fair. Overall we were so pleased with everything, the facilities and the location and the peaceful resort. The weather was perfect not too cold or hot and we only wished we could have stayed longer. We are hoping to plan for a fall winter trip this year."

Shannon from Brick, NJ
Stayed 08/21/2016-08/25/2016

"We all had a fantastic time. We loved that there were so many activities and everything was so convenient. Although we could have walked anywhere from our location (it was perfect!), my daughter loved taking the shuttle places."

Jason from Hamilton, Bermuda
Stayed 08/20/2016-08/27/2016

"We really enjoyed ourselves. Plenty of activities for adults and kids to do together and separately. Great family-oriented resort and all amenities were within a reasonable distance."

Leslie from Derry, NH
Stayed 08/19/2016-08/26/2016

"We had a wonderful vacation. The room was perfect for our needs. Our family enjoyed the resort and spent much time enjoying many of the activities. Since the ages of the grandchildren ranged from 5 to 11, we appreciated the wide variety of choices of activities, especially the pool areas. The pirates breakfast was a wonderful way to end a wonderful week. We really enjoyed having the shuttles take us to different areas. What a wonderful, friendly group of drivers on staff!!!"

Dawn from Wayne, NJ
Stayed 08/19/2016-08/26/2016

"Always love Smuggs. We have been coming here for 10 years now and the kids still enjoy it. There is so much to do. We do some of the same things year after year but there is always something new to try. I would rate it as one of the top vacation spots for families."

Rosanna from New London, NH
Stayed 08/16/2016-08/23/2016

"We absolutely love Smuggs and hope to return every summer and perhaps try it in the winter!"

Brian from Philadelphia, PA
Stayed 08/06/2016-08/13/2016

"We had a great time at Smuggs - we didn't quite know what to expect. We hadn't done this type of family trip before but it was great. Activities for the kids during the day allowed us to enjoy ourselves during the day and in the late afternoon and evening there was plenty for all 4 of us to do. It was a lot of fun and we're glad we chose it."

Irene from Westhampton, NY
Stayed 07/31/2016-08/06/2016

"We live minutes from the Ocean and my goal for this vacation was for my kids to have a completely different experience in the Mountains. Of course, Smugglers delivered. It's so beautiful there. Thank you."

Julia from Monroe, CT
Stayed 07/30/2016-08/06/2016

"I absolutely love coming to Smugglers'. This time I took my grandchildren with me, and like the generation before them, they loved every minute and cannot wait to return with me again."

Cynda from Harrisburg, PA
Stayed 07/29/16-08/05/2016

"Wonderful! We like to tour the surrounding VT area when we visit the state, but we easily could have enjoyed all the amenities & activities Smuggs has to offer right there & never gone out exploring. Our unit was absolutely the BEST, clean, comfortable, nice view, & spacious. The staff was always accommodating, friendly, pleasant, & fun. The myriad of children's and teen's activities was astonishing to us. We did not have any children with us but there was plenty to keep them occupied if so. The resort sprawls beautifully so that you don't feel crammed together & the shuttle is the greatest way to get around - there was never a long wait & the drivers were all helpful & fun. We never did get to see ALL the pools. Manicured landscaping no matter where you look. Had a GREAT time there!"

Larisa from Newton, MA
Stayed 07/25/2016-07/31/2016

"We love coming to Smuggs! I like that there is so much to do, but you can also sit and do nothing. We didn't want to leave."

Kathleen from New Canaan, CT
Stayed 07/25/2016-07/29/2016

"Amazing. Smuggs has figured out what families need for an amazing vacation. There was so much to do, great selection of activities. The pools and activities at each pool were terrific. The staff was so kind, helpful and patient with all my questions. We loved our room - clean, updated and had everything we needed. We loved Rum Runners with all the water "equipment "!! The heated pools were so nice on cool days. We can't wait to return!"

Jim from Wilbraham, MA
Stayed 07/24/2016-07/27/2016

"We loved it. The overall experience of Smuggs was outstanding and we enjoyed a lot of what was offered, but did not get to go to everything because our travel dates were limited. Truly one of the best vacations we have had. To us the best part was, we drove up, parked and didn't touch our car for the visit until we were leaving. There was no need. We could walk to everything, or the shuttle. We never had a moment where we didn't know what to do or were struggling to find something for the kids. The weather was outstanding. It was a great memory for the kids and for us as a family. "

Austin from Erie, PA
Stayed 07/23/2016-07/30/2016

"We absolutely loved the SMUGGS experience! With kids ages 7, 9, & 11 it was truly memorable and fun. I had to come back to work to rest as we were on the go from morning until night. The activities are wide ranging and enjoyable."

James from Watertown, MA
Stayed 07/17/2016-07/22/2016

"We had a wonderful vacation! It was an excellent way to have family fun!"

Julie from Philadelphia, PA
Stayed 07/16/2016-07/23/2016

"We had a wonderful time. It was the perfect place for our 3-year-old son - he loved the playgrounds, the sandboxes, the pools, the splash pad and the activities. He was also immediately comfortable at Treasures and spent two days in their care while my partner and I did other activities that we couldn't have done with him (climbing Mt. Mansfield and ziplining with ArborTrek)."

Kevin from Middlefield, CT
Stayed 07/11/2016-07/16/2016

"We had a great time at Smuggs. So many activities for the family and not nearly enough time to do them all. We will have to visit again."

Denise from Niantic, CT
Stayed 07/11/2016-07/14/2016

"We had a blast! Best vacation ever! This is our new annual vacation spot for sure!"

Chuck from West Hartford, CT
Stayed 07/10/2016-07/15/2016

"Our time at Smuggs met and exceeded all of our expectations. We would highly recommend the resort to anyone with a family. We'll be back next year!"

Denise from West Hartford, CT
Stayed 07/07/2016-07/10/2016

"I think that they have refined pleasure to the highest level....does not get better than this!"

Otto from Plainsboro, NJ
Stayed 06/30/2016-07/08/2016

"Great time, wonderful place & staff. Enjoyed new varied menu at Hearth & Candle; especially will remember our llama walk & the great hiking trails which we snowshoed at Christmastime! Thank you for a great vacation!"

Joanne from Red Bank, NJ
Stayed 06/26/2016-07/02/2016

"Fantastic vacation...the kids are already hounding us to go back again next year!"

Adam from Framingham, MA
Stayed 06/19/2016-06/26/2016

"Amount of options for kids activities stood out as truly impressive. Used to think of the resort as a ski resort. Now think of it for summer fun."

Roberta from Scarborough, ME
Stayed 06/19/2016-06/26/2016

"Our vacation was incredible!! Our 3 kids had a blast in the camps and my husband and I had a great time hiking, swimming and kayaking. The nightly family events were entertaining as well. It was one of our best vacations ever!!"

Sandra from Ridgefield, CT
Stayed 06/19/2016-06/25/2016

"We had an AMAZING time. The activities were fantastic, as well as the staff. I never use babysitters, and hardly leave my kids with people I don't know but I had zero hesitation here."

Kira from Wyckoff, NJ
Stayed 06/19/2016-06/24/2016

"Wonderful experience. Beautiful resort, excellent facilities, knowledgeable, helpful, polite, friendly employees."

Sophia from Wenham, MA
Stayed 06/18/2016-06/25/2016

"Smugglers offers a friendly, relaxed, and people friendly environment in which all ages can find something to do. The staff truly wants to make the guest feel welcomed."

Irma from Belleville, NJ
Stayed 06/17/2016-06/20/2016

"We loved Vermont! It is one of the most beautiful states we have visited. Smuggler's was outstanding. The rooms were great and the pools were fantastic. We would love to go back for a longer period of time to take advantage of the many activities the resort offers. "

Kenneth from Elmira, NY
Stayed 06/15/2016-06/19/2016

"We are very pleasantly surprised. It was VERY family friendly as we have a 6 year old daughter and a 2 year old son. While we couldn't take advantage of all the amenities during this trip, the ones we did were perfect!"
CLOSE


Summer 2015 Guest Reviews
Linda from Red Bank, NJ
Stayed 08/15/2015-08/18/2015

"We had a blast!! So much fun & so many laughs!! We said on the ride home it was one of your best vacations!! Thanks for the great experience and memories!"

Joanne from Fremont, NH
Stayed 08/14/2015-08/16/2015

"This was our first time to Smugglers' Notch resort and won't be our last! We had a wonderful experience. From the dining selections to the different pools/waterslides, no detail was left out! Our 16 month old had so much to do and see. Loved the different playground options as well as kid-friendly pools! The fun zone was also another great area for him to play in!"

Judy from Ottawa, Ont. Canada
Stayed 08/09/2015-08/14/2015

"We had a fabulous trip. We had many fun family moments together including at the welcome party and the Vermont country fair and spending lots of time at the pools. Each of our three children had fun at their camps, while my husband and I went off hiking. At the same time my 82 years old mother was able to relax... It was our second time at Smuggs and we look forward to coming back."

Sandra from Hanover, MA
Stayed 08/07/2015-08/14/2015

"We LOVE Smugglers' Notch. It's the best family vacation in the most beautiful setting!"

Stacy from Rutland, VT
Stayed 08/07/2015-08/10/2015

"Even though we are Vermonters and live a short distance away, we love coming to Smuggs in the summer to enjoy a last minute getaway before the hustle and bustle of school begins. Smuggs offers us a tranquil setting with so much to do and a perfect way for my family to enjoy each other's company."

James from Orlando, FL
Stayed 07/31/2015-08/07/2015

"Amazing vacation, very impressed with the layout of the resort and all the activities available. Great mountain view. Shuttle bus was a great service allowing you to travel through the different spots of the resort without having to drive yourself. The employees at front desk, shuttle drivers and some housekeeping staff were very kind and helpful with any questions we had about the resort and its services."

Larisa from Newton, MA
Stayed 07/26/2015-08/01/2015

"We love love love coming to Smugglers' Notch. It's our only real vacation all year, and it's important that it be fun for everyone. We all have a great time and never want to leave! (I wish I were there right now!)"

Marianne from Wynantskill, NY
Stayed 07/26/2015-08/01/2015

"What a great place to spend a week together! Great activities-especially loved the family karaoke, In it to Win it. Loved the Mountainside pool. We have made some wonderful memories."

Kristine from Bethel, CT
Stayed 07/25/2015-07/28/2015

"This was an absolutely perfect vacation for our family - plenty available for our 7-yr old and 12-yr old and for us to do with them as a family. It was old-fashion fun ... Bingo, swimming, walks, mini golf. Only wish we could have stayed for a whole week - kids are planning to start saving coins in their coin jar to be able to come back in 2016."

Mark from Lake Ronkonkoma, NY
Stayed 07/19/2015-07/25/2015

"We had a great time. My three children all enjoyed their camp(s). My wife and I enjoyed our free time!"

Emily from Oakville, Ont., Canada
Stayed 07/18/2015-07/25/2015

"We loved it. None of us wanted to leave at the end of our week. Tons to do, laid back atmosphere, well maintained property and facilities, awesome customer service. We hope to come back next summer. Loved the condo. Super clean and nicely kept. Super comfy beds."

Sandra from Dracut, MA
Stayed 07/15/2015-07/19/2015

"We had an incredible vacation and enjoyed every minute of it! We are two single moms that have been friends since 13 and we want our children to grow up being friends and vacationing together. This was a perfect way to vacation with 5 kids. We sent the youngest to camp each day and the older three only two of the days. We had a chance to do things as a group and time for the moms to get a massage and lay in the sun by the pool. This may have to be our go to vacation each year from now on!

Aaren from Whitefield, NH
Stayed 07/15/2015-07/19/2015

"Outstanding! Smugglers' Notch is always spot on, yet somehow always seem to be even better, every time we come."

Nancy from Wallingford, CT
Stayed 07/11/2015-07/18/2015

"This vacation was just great! It was just what our family was hoping for - a way for everyone in the family to find something fun to do while enjoying our time together. We only get together a few times each year, so every opportunity is precious."

James from West Bridgewater, MA
Stayed 07/10/2015-07/17/2015

"We love it. I loved the fact that within the vacation, you were able to incorporate the summer camp option for the kids. This gave us time to ourselves to do things that we wanted to do. The kids loved every minute of the camp."

Dale from Farmington, NY
Stayed 07/06/2015-07/12/2015

"Excellent! Smuggs is one of our favorite destinations. Our family is young (5 & 7) and I expect we'll be back many times - with and without kids as there is so much for all ages - both in programs, amenities and intrinsic natural activities."

Judith from Pittsford, NY
Stayed 07/05/2015-07/12/2015

"Smugglers' Notch is an excellent vacation destination for families. There is plenty to do at the resort and nearby. Our accommodations were perfect for our family. We had a wonderful time."

Norman from Danbury, CT
Stayed 07/05/2015-07/11/2015

"I can't express how much we love Smugglers' Notch! Thank you for all you do and the services you provide for families to enjoy themselves and some much deserved relaxation!"

Dorothy from Providence, RI
Stayed 07/03/2015-07/06/2015

"We had a great weekend. Karaoke Friday night at Bootleggers where we met some friends from a previous visit. We went to the parade in Jeffersonville and the Country Fair. We had a cookout with some of our new friends, and even though it rained, it didn't dampen our spirits. We heard the band concert and watched the fireworks from our own balcony. Such a great time and how wonderful that the activities are not only for the guests but are shared with the community."

Jason from Longmeadow, MA
Stayed 07/03/2015-07/05/2015

"We wished we had booked a longer stay. What a beautiful facility with so many family friendly activities. We will definitely be back!"

Josh from Ilderton, ON
Stayed 07/01/2015-07/07/2015

"Loved Smugglers' Notch! Staff was amazing, helpful and accommodating. Kids had a fabulous time. They loved their programs and all the facilities available. They are begging us to go back so they can reconnect with the friends they made. So much to do."

Susan from Sewell, NJ
Stayed 06/28/20115-07/05/2015

"We were pleasantly surprised and would love to return to Vermont! Who knew? Our accommodations provided all the amenities of home and for once our kids didn't have to share a room with us. The Notch Squad was great although my son dragged himself back to the condo afterward like he had been to war! They wore him out and we couldn't have been more pleased! He was so tired he though his legs were broken after day one. This vacation brought my family closer together! Thank you!

Paula from Three Rivers, MA
Stayed 06/26/2015-06/29/2015

"I love this place! I didn't think there would be much to do at a ski resort in the summer but I was wrong. Hiking, biking and zip lining were just a few things we were able to fit in. Great area. So many things for families and even people without children. The condo was spotless and set up great. Can't wait to go back."

Pat from Wells, VT
Stayed 06/26/2015-06/29/2015

"We weren't expecting this time together to be so much fun. Thank you for providing us a place to share good times. The place was safe, clean and full of things to do. It is not always easy taking small children (ages 5, 4 and 10 months) on vacation but Smuggs was perfect for us."

Marina from Avon, CT
Stayed 06/24/2015-06/27/2015

"This was the 1st vacation that my son (who has special needs) and I have been on together and I have to say that it was amazing. He tells me everyday how much he misses Smuggs. We were truly satisfied and super happy."

Kristin from Newtown, CT
Stayed 06/23/2015-06/30/2015

"We love coming to Smuggs and have had a wonderful time this year. Overall, we are very pleased with our stay. This whole experience brings us closer together."

CLOSE

start planning
date picker
date picker
Call direct for the best price


NEW Funzone 2.0: The Next Dimension in Family Fun! Click to learn more

Save up to 15% on your summer vacation when you bring two other families! Call today for details!

Save up to $300 or $400 on your summer vacation! Call today!

Sign Up for eNotch News Your source for Smuggs news and special offers.