1. Fall
  2. Summer
  3. Spring
  4. Winter

Summer Guest Reviews

#1 Family Resort in the U.S. independenttraveler.com

Smugglers' Notch Resort Summer Guest Reviews

Read our guest comments...

For 20 years we have surveyed our guests and asked them "How Do You Like Us?" We use the survey results to refine our programs, activities and amenities to bring our guests the Best Resort For Family Fun Anywhere!

The internet has evolved to provide instant information about anything and everything, and you can find reviews about Smugglers' on many sites. We decided to share with you what our guests tell us in our surveys. We commit to you to give a balanced, candid report and let you decide.
David from Southold, NY
Stayed 08/29/2016-09/04/2016

"We had such an amazing time. We don't get to travel very often and this was a fabulous vacation for our small family. The facilities were everything we could have asked for and MORE, the staff was super friendly and the amenities were off the hook! We loved it so much that we were looking into purchasing a unit so we could be there all the time!!"

Eileen from Hoboken, NJ
Stayed 08/22/2016-08/26/2016

"We had a great time at Smugglers' and plan on returning next year for vacation. We loved all children's activities as well as the adult activities. My eight year old daughter participated in the camp for two days and she loved it! This gave my husband and I a chance to do bike riding and go on a group hike. We also really enjoyed the County Fair on Thursday!"

Catherine from Tenafly, NJ
Stayed 08/21/2016-08/26/2016

"This was a great last minute vacation plan that came together perfectly. Smugglers Notch had something for everyone to do. My kids ages 7 and 8 loved the camp and the friends they made. They joined the nature hiking group for the week and were able to see the resort and around the area through hiking with the group. They had a wonderful time at each of the evening activities and the Smuggs Country Fair. Overall we were so pleased with everything, the facilities and the location and the peaceful resort. The weather was perfect not too cold or hot and we only wished we could have stayed longer. We are hoping to plan for a fall winter trip this year."

Shannon from Brick, NJ
Stayed 08/21/2016-08/25/2016

"We all had a fantastic time. We loved that there were so many activities and everything was so convenient. Although we could have walked anywhere from our location (it was perfect!), my daughter loved taking the shuttle places."

Jason from Hamilton, Bermuda
Stayed 08/20/2016-08/27/2016

"We really enjoyed ourselves. Plenty of activities for adults and kids to do together and separately. Great family-oriented resort and all amenities were within a reasonable distance."

Leslie from Derry, NH
Stayed 08/19/2016-08/26/2016

"We had a wonderful vacation. The room was perfect for our needs. Our family enjoyed the resort and spent much time enjoying many of the activities. Since the ages of the grandchildren ranged from 5 to 11, we appreciated the wide variety of choices of activities, especially the pool areas. The pirates breakfast was a wonderful way to end a wonderful week. We really enjoyed having the shuttles take us to different areas. What a wonderful, friendly group of drivers on staff!!!"

Dawn from Wayne, NJ
Stayed 08/19/2016-08/26/2016

"Always love Smuggs. We have been coming here for 10 years now and the kids still enjoy it. There is so much to do. We do some of the same things year after year but there is always something new to try. I would rate it as one of the top vacation spots for families."

Rosanna from New London, NH
Stayed 08/16/2016-08/23/2016

"We absolutely love Smuggs and hope to return every summer and perhaps try it in the winter!"

Brian from Philadelphia, PA
Stayed 08/06/2016-08/13/2016

"We had a great time at Smuggs - we didn't quite know what to expect. We hadn't done this type of family trip before but it was great. Activities for the kids during the day allowed us to enjoy ourselves during the day and in the late afternoon and evening there was plenty for all 4 of us to do. It was a lot of fun and we're glad we chose it."

Irene from Westhampton, NY
Stayed 07/31/2016-08/06/2016

"We live minutes from the Ocean and my goal for this vacation was for my kids to have a completely different experience in the Mountains. Of course, Smugglers delivered. It's so beautiful there. Thank you."

Julia from Monroe, CT
Stayed 07/30/2016-08/06/2016

"I absolutely love coming to Smugglers'. This time I took my grandchildren with me, and like the generation before them, they loved every minute and cannot wait to return with me again."

Cynda from Harrisburg, PA
Stayed 07/29/16-08/05/2016

"Wonderful! We like to tour the surrounding VT area when we visit the state, but we easily could have enjoyed all the amenities & activities Smuggs has to offer right there & never gone out exploring. Our unit was absolutely the BEST, clean, comfortable, nice view, & spacious. The staff was always accommodating, friendly, pleasant, & fun. The myriad of children's and teen's activities was astonishing to us. We did not have any children with us but there was plenty to keep them occupied if so. The resort sprawls beautifully so that you don't feel crammed together & the shuttle is the greatest way to get around - there was never a long wait & the drivers were all helpful & fun. We never did get to see ALL the pools. Manicured landscaping no matter where you look. Had a GREAT time there!"

Larisa from Newton, MA
Stayed 07/25/2016-07/31/2016

"We love coming to Smuggs! I like that there is so much to do, but you can also sit and do nothing. We didn't want to leave."

Kathleen from New Canaan, CT
Stayed 07/25/2016-07/29/2016

"Amazing. Smuggs has figured out what families need for an amazing vacation. There was so much to do, great selection of activities. The pools and activities at each pool were terrific. The staff was so kind, helpful and patient with all my questions. We loved our room - clean, updated and had everything we needed. We loved Rum Runners with all the water "equipment "!! The heated pools were so nice on cool days. We can't wait to return!"

Jim from Wilbraham, MA
Stayed 07/24/2016-07/27/2016

"We loved it. The overall experience of Smuggs was outstanding and we enjoyed a lot of what was offered, but did not get to go to everything because our travel dates were limited. Truly one of the best vacations we have had. To us the best part was, we drove up, parked and didn't touch our car for the visit until we were leaving. There was no need. We could walk to everything, or the shuttle. We never had a moment where we didn't know what to do or were struggling to find something for the kids. The weather was outstanding. It was a great memory for the kids and for us as a family. "

Austin from Erie, PA
Stayed 07/23/2016-07/30/2016

"We absolutely loved the SMUGGS experience! With kids ages 7, 9, & 11 it was truly memorable and fun. I had to come back to work to rest as we were on the go from morning until night. The activities are wide ranging and enjoyable."

James from Watertown, MA
Stayed 07/17/2016-07/22/2016

"We had a wonderful vacation! It was an excellent way to have family fun!"

Julie from Philadelphia, PA
Stayed 07/16/2016-07/23/2016

"We had a wonderful time. It was the perfect place for our 3-year-old son - he loved the playgrounds, the sandboxes, the pools, the splash pad and the activities. He was also immediately comfortable at Treasures and spent two days in their care while my partner and I did other activities that we couldn't have done with him (climbing Mt. Mansfield and ziplining with ArborTrek)."

Kevin from Middlefield, CT
Stayed 07/11/2016-07/16/2016

"We had a great time at Smuggs. So many activities for the family and not nearly enough time to do them all. We will have to visit again."

Denise from Niantic, CT
Stayed 07/11/2016-07/14/2016

"We had a blast! Best vacation ever! This is our new annual vacation spot for sure!"

Chuck from West Hartford, CT
Stayed 07/10/2016-07/15/2016

"Our time at Smuggs met and exceeded all of our expectations. We would highly recommend the resort to anyone with a family. We'll be back next year!"

Denise from West Hartford, CT
Stayed 07/07/2016-07/10/2016

"I think that they have refined pleasure to the highest level....does not get better than this!"

Otto from Plainsboro, NJ
Stayed 06/30/2016-07/08/2016

"Great time, wonderful place & staff. Enjoyed new varied menu at Hearth & Candle; especially will remember our llama walk & the great hiking trails which we snowshoed at Christmastime! Thank you for a great vacation!"

Joanne from Red Bank, NJ
Stayed 06/26/2016-07/02/2016

"Fantastic vacation...the kids are already hounding us to go back again next year!"

Adam from Framingham, MA
Stayed 06/19/2016-06/26/2016

"Amount of options for kids activities stood out as truly impressive. Used to think of the resort as a ski resort. Now think of it for summer fun."

Roberta from Scarborough, ME
Stayed 06/19/2016-06/26/2016

"Our vacation was incredible!! Our 3 kids had a blast in the camps and my husband and I had a great time hiking, swimming and kayaking. The nightly family events were entertaining as well. It was one of our best vacations ever!!"

Sandra from Ridgefield, CT
Stayed 06/19/2016-06/25/2016

"We had an AMAZING time. The activities were fantastic, as well as the staff. I never use babysitters, and hardly leave my kids with people I don't know but I had zero hesitation here."

Kira from Wyckoff, NJ
Stayed 06/19/2016-06/24/2016

"Wonderful experience. Beautiful resort, excellent facilities, knowledgeable, helpful, polite, friendly employees."

Sophia from Wenham, MA
Stayed 06/18/2016-06/25/2016

"Smugglers offers a friendly, relaxed, and people friendly environment in which all ages can find something to do. The staff truly wants to make the guest feel welcomed."

Irma from Belleville, NJ
Stayed 06/17/2016-06/20/2016

"We loved Vermont! It is one of the most beautiful states we have visited. Smuggler's was outstanding. The rooms were great and the pools were fantastic. We would love to go back for a longer period of time to take advantage of the many activities the resort offers. "

Kenneth from Elmira, NY
Stayed 06/15/2016-06/19/2016

"We are very pleasantly surprised. It was VERY family friendly as we have a 6 year old daughter and a 2 year old son. While we couldn't take advantage of all the amenities during this trip, the ones we did were perfect!"
Summer 2015 Guest Reviews
Linda from Red Bank, NJ
Stayed 08/15/2015-08/18/2015

"We had a blast!! So much fun & so many laughs!! We said on the ride home it was one of your best vacations!! Thanks for the great experience and memories!"

Joanne from Fremont, NH
Stayed 08/14/2015-08/16/2015

"This was our first time to Smugglers' Notch resort and won't be our last! We had a wonderful experience. From the dining selections to the different pools/waterslides, no detail was left out! Our 16 month old had so much to do and see. Loved the different playground options as well as kid-friendly pools! The fun zone was also another great area for him to play in!"

Judy from Ottawa, Ont. Canada
Stayed 08/09/2015-08/14/2015

"We had a fabulous trip. We had many fun family moments together including at the welcome party and the Vermont country fair and spending lots of time at the pools. Each of our three children had fun at their camps, while my husband and I went off hiking. At the same time my 82 years old mother was able to relax... It was our second time at Smuggs and we look forward to coming back."

Sandra from Hanover, MA
Stayed 08/07/2015-08/14/2015

"We LOVE Smugglers' Notch. It's the best family vacation in the most beautiful setting!"

Stacy from Rutland, VT
Stayed 08/07/2015-08/10/2015

"Even though we are Vermonters and live a short distance away, we love coming to Smuggs in the summer to enjoy a last minute getaway before the hustle and bustle of school begins. Smuggs offers us a tranquil setting with so much to do and a perfect way for my family to enjoy each other's company."

James from Orlando, FL
Stayed 07/31/2015-08/07/2015

"Amazing vacation, very impressed with the layout of the resort and all the activities available. Great mountain view. Shuttle bus was a great service allowing you to travel through the different spots of the resort without having to drive yourself. The employees at front desk, shuttle drivers and some housekeeping staff were very kind and helpful with any questions we had about the resort and its services."

Larisa from Newton, MA
Stayed 07/26/2015-08/01/2015

"We love love love coming to Smugglers' Notch. It's our only real vacation all year, and it's important that it be fun for everyone. We all have a great time and never want to leave! (I wish I were there right now!)"

Marianne from Wynantskill, NY
Stayed 07/26/2015-08/01/2015

"What a great place to spend a week together! Great activities-especially loved the family karaoke, In it to Win it. Loved the Mountainside pool. We have made some wonderful memories."

Kristine from Bethel, CT
Stayed 07/25/2015-07/28/2015

"This was an absolutely perfect vacation for our family - plenty available for our 7-yr old and 12-yr old and for us to do with them as a family. It was old-fashion fun ... Bingo, swimming, walks, mini golf. Only wish we could have stayed for a whole week - kids are planning to start saving coins in their coin jar to be able to come back in 2016."

Mark from Lake Ronkonkoma, NY
Stayed 07/19/2015-07/25/2015

"We had a great time. My three children all enjoyed their camp(s). My wife and I enjoyed our free time!"

Emily from Oakville, Ont., Canada
Stayed 07/18/2015-07/25/2015

"We loved it. None of us wanted to leave at the end of our week. Tons to do, laid back atmosphere, well maintained property and facilities, awesome customer service. We hope to come back next summer. Loved the condo. Super clean and nicely kept. Super comfy beds."

Sandra from Dracut, MA
Stayed 07/15/2015-07/19/2015

"We had an incredible vacation and enjoyed every minute of it! We are two single moms that have been friends since 13 and we want our children to grow up being friends and vacationing together. This was a perfect way to vacation with 5 kids. We sent the youngest to camp each day and the older three only two of the days. We had a chance to do things as a group and time for the moms to get a massage and lay in the sun by the pool. This may have to be our go to vacation each year from now on!

Aaren from Whitefield, NH
Stayed 07/15/2015-07/19/2015

"Outstanding! Smugglers' Notch is always spot on, yet somehow always seem to be even better, every time we come."

Nancy from Wallingford, CT
Stayed 07/11/2015-07/18/2015

"This vacation was just great! It was just what our family was hoping for - a way for everyone in the family to find something fun to do while enjoying our time together. We only get together a few times each year, so every opportunity is precious."

James from West Bridgewater, MA
Stayed 07/10/2015-07/17/2015

"We love it. I loved the fact that within the vacation, you were able to incorporate the summer camp option for the kids. This gave us time to ourselves to do things that we wanted to do. The kids loved every minute of the camp."

Dale from Farmington, NY
Stayed 07/06/2015-07/12/2015

"Excellent! Smuggs is one of our favorite destinations. Our family is young (5 & 7) and I expect we'll be back many times - with and without kids as there is so much for all ages - both in programs, amenities and intrinsic natural activities."

Judith from Pittsford, NY
Stayed 07/05/2015-07/12/2015

"Smugglers' Notch is an excellent vacation destination for families. There is plenty to do at the resort and nearby. Our accommodations were perfect for our family. We had a wonderful time."

Norman from Danbury, CT
Stayed 07/05/2015-07/11/2015

"I can't express how much we love Smugglers' Notch! Thank you for all you do and the services you provide for families to enjoy themselves and some much deserved relaxation!"

Dorothy from Providence, RI
Stayed 07/03/2015-07/06/2015

"We had a great weekend. Karaoke Friday night at Bootleggers where we met some friends from a previous visit. We went to the parade in Jeffersonville and the Country Fair. We had a cookout with some of our new friends, and even though it rained, it didn't dampen our spirits. We heard the band concert and watched the fireworks from our own balcony. Such a great time and how wonderful that the activities are not only for the guests but are shared with the community."

Jason from Longmeadow, MA
Stayed 07/03/2015-07/05/2015

"We wished we had booked a longer stay. What a beautiful facility with so many family friendly activities. We will definitely be back!"

Josh from Ilderton, ON
Stayed 07/01/2015-07/07/2015

"Loved Smugglers' Notch! Staff was amazing, helpful and accommodating. Kids had a fabulous time. They loved their programs and all the facilities available. They are begging us to go back so they can reconnect with the friends they made. So much to do."

Susan from Sewell, NJ
Stayed 06/28/20115-07/05/2015

"We were pleasantly surprised and would love to return to Vermont! Who knew? Our accommodations provided all the amenities of home and for once our kids didn't have to share a room with us. The Notch Squad was great although my son dragged himself back to the condo afterward like he had been to war! They wore him out and we couldn't have been more pleased! He was so tired he though his legs were broken after day one. This vacation brought my family closer together! Thank you!

Paula from Three Rivers, MA
Stayed 06/26/2015-06/29/2015

"I love this place! I didn't think there would be much to do at a ski resort in the summer but I was wrong. Hiking, biking and zip lining were just a few things we were able to fit in. Great area. So many things for families and even people without children. The condo was spotless and set up great. Can't wait to go back."

Pat from Wells, VT
Stayed 06/26/2015-06/29/2015

"We weren't expecting this time together to be so much fun. Thank you for providing us a place to share good times. The place was safe, clean and full of things to do. It is not always easy taking small children (ages 5, 4 and 10 months) on vacation but Smuggs was perfect for us."

Marina from Avon, CT
Stayed 06/24/2015-06/27/2015

"This was the 1st vacation that my son (who has special needs) and I have been on together and I have to say that it was amazing. He tells me everyday how much he misses Smuggs. We were truly satisfied and super happy."

Kristin from Newtown, CT
Stayed 06/23/2015-06/30/2015

"We love coming to Smuggs and have had a wonderful time this year. Overall, we are very pleased with our stay. This whole experience brings us closer together."

Tracy from Beechhurst, NY
Stayed 06/23/2015-06/28/2015

"We absolutely loved it. Facilities were all clean and very well run. Staff was very helpful and attentive. We will definitely be back!"

Michelle from Yardley, PA
Stayed 06/21/2015-06/28/2015

"We had a great time! There were enough activities to keep our kids occupied while my husband and I explored the area and did some great hikes. Our kids attended the Survival Camp and the High Adventure Camp and loved them both."

Jennifer from East Aurora, NY
Stayed 06/21/2015-06/28/2015

"We had a wonderful time. The location was convenient to hiking, kayaking, and shopping in Burlington. The entire trip was magical in a natural sort of way."

Kathy from Northford, CT
Stayed 06/21/2015-06/26/2015

"Very nice, perfect for family. Loved being able to not only spend time with the kids, but also having time with my husband while the kids were in the camps. This was our best family vacation to date, we enjoyed our accommodations and all the things that were offered for kids and adults."

Tim from Yardly, PA
Stayed 06/20/2015-06/27/2015

"We loved it! Smugglers' Notch is our favorite place and our kids' favorite vacation! They have told us repeatedly that it's way better than Disneyworld!!!

Bruce from Cherry Hill, NJ
Stayed 06/20/2015-06/27/2015

"Every year, I take my whole family for a week's vacation. I can safely speak for all that Smugglers' Notch Resort was one of the best vacations we experienced. They are already asking to return for an encore."

Brett from Mays Landing, NJ
Stayed 06/20/2015-06/27/2015

"There are not many things you can count on being just as good as your remembered and Smugglers' Notch is one of them because it is even better. It truly lives up to what you want in your vacation-equal parts relaxation, excitement, mellow, and pulse-racing. The views are as delicious as the food. And the way each member of the staff greets you makes you feel just as warm as the sun rising over those green mountains."

Amelia from Manville, NJ
Stayed 06/19/2015-06/26/2015

"A fantastic time was had by all! The adults loved the evening entertainment, walks and wikes, and the kids loved the camps and kids' activities. We all enjoyed the pools and family ties activities."

William from Mount Airy, MD
Stayed 06/17/2015-06/21/2015

"Our family had an awesome time! We were so busy and still could not take it all in!"

Kate from Marshfield, MA
Stayed 06/17/2015-06/19/2015

"Loved every second of it. So much for everyone to do. We needed more time."

Joanne from Cumberland, RI
Stayed 06/11/2015-06/14/2015

"Beautiful resort. Very well kept grounds and maintenance of the units was excellent. Very impressed with the friendliness of the employees. Huge amount of things to do offered by the resort. Am rating this in the top 5 of all the ones we've stayed in through our years at RCI. Even the location was beautiful, including the drive to the resort. Would highly recommend to other people, especially those with family."
CLOSE

Summer 2014 Guest Reviews
Michele from Buxton, ME
Stayed 08/18/14-08/23/14

"Beyond amazing. I say Disney World of New England."

Daria from North Falmouth, MA
Stayed 08/16/14-08/24/14

"As always it was an eventful and fun vacation. My daughters loved the camp and we loved the hiking and pools. Every time we go to Smuggs it is a blast. We are never bored or wondering what to to."

Judy from Ottawa, ON, Canada
Stayed 08/10/14-08/14/14

"We had a fabulous trip. I could not have imagined coming home from a holiday with three children and feeling more relaxed then when we left - and we did. There were so many different opportunities to have fun and connect. We would recommend Smuggs highly for families."

Francis from Saint Paul, MN
Stayed 08/08/14-08/15/14

"Absolutely wonderful - we were there with our daughter and family. There was so much for the grandchildren to enjoy - including the waterslides, bingo, mini golf, making tie die T's, building a cart, carnival, great restaurants for kids, hiking, etc. we felt they really went the extra mile to accommodate their guests - including the bus transportation."

Jean from West Roxbury, MA
Stayed 08/07/14-08/14/14

"We had a wonderful time! My husband and I had vacationed with our children at Smugglers' during the 90s. We had such fond memories of our stay we decided to re-visit, all of us, with our 3 grandsons. With much anticipation over whether it would work for all I can only say, we all had a blast! Everyone found something to do which also included much needed R & R.

CLOSE


start planning
date picker
date picker
Call direct for the best price


Save up to 15% on your summer vacation when you bring two other families! Call today for details!

Save up to $300 on your summer vacation! Call today for details!

Sign Up for eNotch News Your source for Smuggs news and special offers.